The Yale Library has seven different special collections units, all of which hold archival collections in addition to rare and unique books and other published materials.
The following entries are for archival collections that have materials relating to Canada. This is a list of suggestions and is not meant to be comprehensive. Searching in Archives at Yale is your best approach to finding archival collections at Yale relevant to your research topic.
Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Correspondence, writings, printed material, and other papers of Alfred Bingham (1905-1998), social reformer, writer, founder and editor of Common Sense magazine, lawyer, and politician. Included are his personal papers, consisting of diaries, writings and correspondence, much of the latter being with individuals and organizations prominent in the reform movements of the 1930s, 1940s, and 1960s. Also included are the business and correspondence files of Common Sense, and files relating to various organizations with which he was associated.
Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Letters, writings, and memorabilia document Macintosh's life and work. Douglas Clyde Macintosh was Professor of Theology at Yale from 1909 to 1942. Most significant among the biographical materials is a large scrapbook that includes correspondence, clippings, and documents related to Macintosh's citizenship case. A native of Canada, Macintosh was denied United States citizenship by the Supreme Court because of his stance against bearing arms.
Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
William Inglis Morse was born in Paradise, Nova Scotia, on June 4, 1874. He graduated from Acadia College in 1897 and the Episcopal Theological School in 1900. Morse preached in Connecticut and Massachusetts until 1929 and then devoted himself to historical research. The collection consists of autograph letters, business papers, and legal papers, in French and English, almost all to or by Canadians.
Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Correspondence, topical files, writings, research materials, lecture and course notes, and departmental files documenting the professional career of classicist Eric A. Havelock as educator, administrator, and author. His political interests and activities during his years in Canada are also represented.
Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Correspondence, diaries, notebooks, school notes, and other papers of O.C. Marsh, scientist and first professor of paleontology at Yale and in the United States. Of special interest is the rather extensive correspondence Marsh carried on with many prominent scientists of his time; included are letters from Charles Darwin, Leonard and Thomas Huxley, Simon Newcomb, and Benjamin Silliman Sr. and Jr. Also included are materials relating to Marsh’s education at Andover, Yale, and in Germany, family papers, and papers reflecting his involvement with the Cardiff Giant hoax and the Red Cloud controversy.
Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Correspondence, writings, topical files, biographical files, scrapbooks, and other materials relating to the personal, political, and business activities of William Kent (1864-1928). The papers document Kent’s career as a municipal reformer in Chicago and Northern California; his interests in conservation, recreation, and public control of water power; his campaigns for election to Congress; his service in the United States House of Representatives and on the United States Tariff Commission; and his business interests in cattle ranches in Nebraska and Nevada. The papers also include materials relating to the activities of Kent’s wife, Elizabeth Thacher Kent, her family, and their children and grandchildren.
Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: This collection, assembled by the Yale University Library, contains a wide range of printed material which documents the cultural, economic, political, and social history of many nations and geographic regions. The vast majority of items are twentieth century publications. The collection is particularly strong in such subject areas as African literature, Canadian history, German history, and South African history. There are materials arranged under both broad geographic headings (i.e., Africa) and headings for individual countries.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved