Primary source set and teaching guide from the Digital Public Library of America.

Letters, intended to be reports from the field, are far more than dry discussions of mission business. Ranging in length from single fragments to reports of over twenty pages, they describe the Indian peoples and cultures, tribal factionalism, relations with the U.S. government, and the many problems and achievements of the work. The letters often become personal and even anguished, as the writers disclose their fears, worries, and hopes.

The collection consists primarily of the correspondence of missionaries written to the secretaries of the ABCFM and the Presbyterian BFM. Documenting the mission work among Native Americans, letters are presumably official in nature but often contain much personal comment and experiences. Also the collection consists of reports, including school and mission station reports and statistics; financial statements, accounts, and vouchers; agreements/contracts; maps; and other assorted material.

Documents interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection.

Collection includes documents from the American Indian Movement (AIM), an advocacy group that focuses on sovereignty, leadership, and treaties. Included is documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee stand-off and materials collections by the FBI.

This collection includes the extensive FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest. In addition, there is documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide unparalleled insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism. Dataset available below.

American Indian Newspapers presents the publications of a range of communities the United States and British Columbia from 1828 to 2016. This resource covers: community news, public health and welfare, education, cultural promotion and language revitalization, consumerism and commercial enterprises, activism and protest, American Indian Movement, natural resources and environmentalism, tribal laws, process and elections, sovereignty, land cession, property and land rights, media representation and conflict, war and conscription

Billions of historical documents and other materials housed at the National Archives throughout the country include information relating to Native Americans from the 18th through the 21st century. The documents we hold related to Native Communities reflect their interaction with the U.S. Government. Primary sources related to American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Native Hawaiians.

Original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources from the Graff Collection about the American West, including tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes, and outlaws, and the growth of urban centres and environmental impact of westward expansion and of life in the borderlands.

Preserve the history of both Spanish and Mexican Texas from 1717 to 1836. While wide in scope, these digitized documents also detail Spanish and Mexican relations with Indigenous communities in Texas.

Digitized research materials from the National Archives and other repositories, including Dickinson College, Cumberland County Historical Society, and others.

Primary source set and teaching guide.

CMS's global missionary work from the 19th to the 21st century. The publications include news, journals, and reports on themes from gender and families to medicine, education, the development of native churches, political conflict, social reform, linguistics, global history and exploration. The collection also features biographies, an interactive chronology, maps, woodcuts, and photographs.

Colonial State Papers provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Also included is a digitized version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.

Primary source set and teaching guide related to English-Native conflicts in the 17th and 18th centuries. From the Library of Congress.

Provides ccess to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, sheet music etc. that document the American experience

Digitized from one of the most important collections ever produced on microform, Early American Imprints, Series I is based on Charles Evans’ renowned “American Bibliography” and Roger Bristol’s supplement. Including more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages, Series I also offers new imprints not available in microform editions.

This database documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and brings together a wide range of published and unpublished materials, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.

Early encounters in North America documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.

Documents, books, and articles relating to the indigenous peoples of southwestern Oregon and northern California.

Primary source documents the experience on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920.

Digitized issues of a magazine published by students at the United States Indian Training School in Chilocco, Oklahoma Territory, 1904-1980.

The Navy Department Library created this site, which highlights Indian contributions to WWII including the Code Talkers, pictures, honors and medals, role in the Navy, POWs, and the contributions of the Indian women. Links to other wars are included.;

Indigenous peoples, North America traces the history of Native Peoples in North America from colonial relations in the 1600s to twentieth-century issues such as civil rights. Includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, photos, and videos.

Comprises two sets of documents that helped the response to 40 years of failed Native American policies. The first is the full text of the report entitled The Problem of Indian Administration, better known as the Meriam Report. The second comprises the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans.

Photographs and documents related to Indian boarding schools.

The Bureau of Indian Affairs sponsors this site, which has a rich collection of images, paintings, historic places, and Webcasts including Hoop Dancing, storytelling, authors discussing their prize-winning books, and lectures.

Union list of Native American periodicals and newspapers in North America

Part of the digital history series sponsored by the Departments of History and the College of Education at the University of Houston, this resource was created to support the teaching of American History in K–12 schools and colleges. It provides information from textbooks, primary sources and other documents. The site is organized in chronological order and then by document type. The textbook section introduces the topic and provides an overview of Native American History from their beginnings to contemporary times

E-book that reproduces the 20 volume set published between 1907-1930.

North American Indian thought and culture contains biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.

Provides access to primary source, cross-searchable, full-text, full-image documents from ProQuest's University Publications of America (UPA) collection on topics related to 19th and 20th-century U.S. history. Collections includes modules on "American Indians and the American West", "American Politics & Society", "Revolutionary War & Early America".

ndian Claims Insight is a research tool that provides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims. Indian Claims Insight allows researchers to search Indian claims content by keyword, full text, docket number, and more. Content includes decisions, transcripts, docket books, journals of the Indian Claims Commission (a judicial panel for relations between the U.S. Government and Native American tribes), and related statutes and congressional publications.

This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, etc.

consists of the letters received by and letters sent to the War Department, including correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, treaty and other commissioners, Treasury Department officials, and persons having commercial dealings with the War Department, and other public and private individuals.

This extensive collection of materials relating to the history of the American West and Native American cultures includes the Doris Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History and the Indian Pioneer Papers. The former aims to preserve the history, culture, religion, folk history, and philosophy of Indians; interviews were conducted from 1967 to 1972, which coincide with the end of the Reservation Period. Individuals from more than 30 tribes in Oklahoma provide their oral testimony. Indian-white relations, famous battles, ceremonies, missionary activities, schooling, tribal government, and warfare are included—all from the Indian perspective. The Indian Papers contain oral interviews also with inhabitants of the Indian Territory (Indians and whites) during the 1930s. The collection includes biographies and general topics, such as slavery, dances, medicine, legends, Civil War, and daily life. The tribes located mainly in what is Oklahoma today were Seminole, Cherokee, Choctaw, Muscogee, and Chickasaw. These transcripts are searchable by name, place, or subject.

Legislative and executive documents from the U.S. Congress.

As part of Yale University’s Law School’s Avalon project, this site provides the full-text of treaties between the United States and Native Americans dating back to 1778 until the 19th century.

Charles J. Kappler compiled this primary source of Indian Treaties. Seven volumes of Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties (United States Government Treaties (volume II) and laws and executive orders (volumes I, III–VII) from 1778 to 1970) have been digitized to provide the most comprehensive source for permanent laws related to Indian affairs. The index is fully searchable.

Full text, image-based searchable database of primary and secondary legal publications. Collections include: U.S. federal, state, and territories government documents; case reporters, legal periodicals and treatises; foreign government, multi-jurisdictional, and international law documents; canon law, Native American law, and legal philosophy.

A law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs. Y

Provides access to the constitutions, tribal codes, and other legal documents. A cooperative project of the
U of Oklahoma Law Center and the National Indian Law Library

Digital images of the reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs, principally from the 1870s and a good selection of maps of the West.