Yale University Library Research Guides: AFAM186/LAST214/SOCY170/PLSC378 Contesting Injustice: Websites

Magazine/Periodical coverage

27 Powerful Pictures From The History Of LGBTQ Protests
Photo-essay on Stonewall- 1969
The 2010s: A Decade Of Protests Around The World
NPR
BLM Organizers See the 1972 National Black Political Convention as a Model. What Can They Learn From It?
Politico Magazine
Crowds Flock to Pride March as Hungary Faces LGBTQ Reckoning
Gary Younge- Streets on fire: How a decade of protest
Guardian Weekly; also check out this podcast on Gary Young on the Global Black Liberation Uprisings
How the Fight Against Police Brutality Helped Ignite the LGBTQ-Rights Movement
Time magazine article on protests and the impact on the Black trans community
Wilson Quarterly- The Power of Protest

Other sites

International Institute of Social History Protest Search
An extensively digitized collection focused on sources for Social History. This link provides a preliminary search of the word Protest
Find Policy
Search 17 think tanks for policy analysis on a variety of topics
Institute for Policy Studies According to their website: IPS is a progressive think tank dedicated to building a more equitable, ecologically sustainable, and peaceful society. In partnership with dynamic social movements, we turn transformative policy ideas into action.
IssueLab
Foundations research that provide reports on various topics
United States Institute of Peace According to their site: The United States Institute of Peace is a national, nonpartisan, independent institute, founded by Congress and dedicated to the proposition that a world without violent conflict is possible, practical, and essential for U.S. and global security.

IGO search engine

Use the Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine (a Google custom search) to search across hundreds of IGO websites:

NGO search engine

Use the Non-governmental Organization Search Engine to search across NGO websites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).

Topic- Black Lives Matter

***Many of the listed materials are previously curated by others, some at Yale and some beyond. You may need to request them from other libraries.

#blacklivesmatter Micro Syllabus
According to the website: "This micro-syllabus brings together a broad collection of readings about the Black Lives Matter Movement, police violence, and subsequent Black political responses. The syllabus includes discussions about the origins of Black Lives Matter and how this movement fits in the story of American Political Development. It also covers how the media and elected officials respond to protests around police violence." Authors Nadia E. Brown, Ray Block, Jr. and Christopher Stout explain the syllabus in this Washington Post article.
Cornell Black Lives Matter Research Guide
According to the website... "The intention of this guide is to provide information resources related to the BLM movement and its founding. Resources have been placed in various topics or categories. It goes without saying that many titles could have been placed in more than one category. As with most online library guides new resources or categories may be added. Please revisit this site for updates. "
CSUM #BlacklivesMatter Research Guide
According to their site "...general sources and research information about the Black Lives Matter movement and social justice issues."
Penn State Black Lives Matter Research Guide
This research guide provides materials which will give insight into the protests after George Floyd murder. Key parts of the guide: Historical Context, Current Events, and Anti-Racist resources.
Princeton Black Lives Matter: Policing and Incarceration Research Guide
This research guide provides primary documents to the Black Lives Matter movement, statistics and data that affect the Black Lives Matter movement and recommended readings
Protests, Policing, And Race
Free Cambridge Core Articles that highlight the intersections of "race, power, governance, social injustice and oppression."
Yale Black Lives Matter Guide
This research guide provides books on Black Lives matter, links to databases through which you can engage research on black lives matter, and some primary sources that provide some context
Detroit under Fire
Detroit Under Fire is a multimedia digital exhibit that documents patterns and incidents of police brutality and misconduct, as well as 188 fatal shootings and other killings by law enforcement, in the city of Detroit during the era of the modern civil rights movement, from 1957-1973. The exhibit further chronicles the anti-police brutality struggle waged by civil rights and black power groups, and by many ordinary people, who demanded racial and social justice and sought accountability for systemic police violence.

AFAM186/LAST214/SOCY170/PLSC378 Contesting Injustice: Websites

Magazine/Periodical coverage

Other sites

IGO search engine

NGO search engine

Topic- Black Lives Matter

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries