Yale University Library Research Guides: ANTH 322/EVST 324/ SAST 306 Environmental Justice in Modern South Asia: Anthropology/Archaeology

Secondary Sources

Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
AnthroSource
Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins.

Tips for Finding Ethnographies

You may want to consult an ethnography or ethnology for your research. An ethnography focuses on one distinct group of people, whereas an ethnology compares multiple cultures. These can be found through Yale Library's Quicksearch Here are some tips:

Try searching Ethnography OR Ethnology AND Paraguay [for example]
For specific North and South American peoples, search for [tribal name] AND Indians: ex. Mohegan Indians
For non-American peoples, include the continent in your search: ex. Bantu AND Africa. Keep in mind that many tribes may have multiple spellings of their names

Primary Sources

Anthropological Fieldwork Online
Anthropological fieldwork online features brings the fieldwork underpinning the ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today.
eHRAF Archaeology
eHRAF Archaeology is a cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. This annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF is a collection of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world; it provides information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns. The information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups.
Royal Anthropological Institute Papers
Collection of digitized primary sources providing access to two hundred years of scientific research and progress in the fields of natural history, natural sciences, medical research, climate science, civil and human rights, education in the sciences, and more. Contains an extensive body of diverse and interdisciplinary original materials, including correspondence, fieldwork, gray literature, personal papers, photographs, and proceedings.

ANTH 322/EVST 324/ SAST 306 Environmental Justice in Modern South Asia: Anthropology/Archaeology

About this page

Secondary Sources

Tips for Finding Ethnographies

Primary Sources

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries