The American founding era collection contains the annotated, full-text searchable set of the personal papers and manuscripts of the founders of the American Republic. The collection includes the papers of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, Dolley Madison, James Madison, John Marshall, Andrew Jackson, Charles Pinckney, the People of the Founding Era collection, and the Documentary History of the First Federal Congress of the United States of America.

America's Historical Newspapers is a searchable and browsable collection of American newspapers published from 1690 to the present. It offers searchable digital facsimiles of titles from every U.S. state and Puerto Rico. It features eyewitness reporting, news pieces, editorials, letters, advertisements, and obituaries. Includes the collection American Ethnic Newspapers, including African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971.

March 1789-March 1791. Containing all of the contents of the twenty-two-volume letterpress edition from Johns Hopkins University Press, this digital edition is fully searchable and interoperable with other titles in Rotunda’s American Founding Era Collection.

America's historical imprints is a collection of searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera related to American history. The collection is searchable by genre, subject, author, history of printing, place of publication, and language. Includes "Early American Imprints," or what's popularly known as "Evans" (for Charles Evans, whose American Bibliography is the basis of the collection). Also includes several other imprint collections.

Contains books, maps, artwork, and other primary source materials from the Gilder Lehrman Collection. It is divided into two modules: Module 1 Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859; and Module 2 Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945.

Searchable works by Black authors from the Americas, Europe and Africa. Major subject areas include Literature, Ethnic History, Colonialism, Gender Studies, Slavery, and Diaspora Studies. Includes personal narratives, autobiographies, histories, expedition reports, military reports, novels, essays, poems, and musical compositions.

Eighteenth century collections online includes titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Material consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; and general reference.

Based on Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana, Sabin Americana contains works about the Americas published worldwide from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, and military actions in the western hemisphere.

Freely available web resource from the Massachusetts Historical Society

The American founding era collection contains the annotated, full-text searchable set of the personal papers and manuscripts of the founders of the American Republic. The collection includes the papers of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, Dolley Madison, James Madison, John Marshall, Andrew Jackson, Charles Pinckney, and the People of the Founding Era collection.

American Indian histories and cultures documents interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection.

Colonial America is a collection of chiefly manuscript material from the Colonial Office files at the National Archives in London. The collection focuses on seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world. It covers the period 1606 to 1822.

A freely available web version of American Founding Era (above)

Indigenous peoples, North America traces the history of Native Peoples in North America from colonial relations in the 1600s to twentieth-century issues such as civil rights. Includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, photos, and videos.

Manuscript women's letters and diaries features unpublished letters and diaries of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th century. The women wrote from the many places throughout the U.S. in which they lived, traveled, worked, studied, and observed the lives and historical events around them.

Access via the ProQuest History Vault. Featuring records of John Hancock, Paul Revere, Artemas Ward, and other collections from the Colonial Era, Revolutionary War, and Early National period

Slavery, Abolition and Social justice features documents and collections that treat slavery, its legacy and continued existence, and social justice issues related to its legacy. Coverage is from 1490 to 2008, and materials include original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps, and images.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

America's Historical Newspapers is a searchable and browsable collection of American newspapers published from 1690 to the present. It offers searchable digital facsimiles of titles from every U.S. state and Puerto Rico. It features eyewitness reporting, news pieces, editorials, letters, advertisements, and obituaries. Includes the collection American Ethnic Newspapers, including African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971.

We have access to Series 1-5. The link here goes to Series 1. If you click on the “Choose Databases” link from the home page of the database, you can then select the remaining series (2-5) and search all the series together.

American periodicals contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

British Library newspapers contains full text digitized versions of 19th Century British newspapers held by the the British Library. Includes London national dailies and weeklies, English regional dailies and weeklies, Home Countries newspapers (Scottish national, Scottish regional, Welsh, Northern Irish), and special-interest papers. The interface allows for basic and advanced searches, as well as browsing by title, publication date, place of publication, publication frequency, and language. Accompanied by essays providing historical context.

Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th cent

17th-18th century Burney collection newspapers grants full-text access to the British Library's collection of newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). Included are Parliamentary papers, the London daily news, English humor of the 1600s, and other early English news media.

Features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, United Kingdom. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 have been digitized. This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th and 18th century England.

Includes Congressional Record and other Congressional documents, as well as the Congressional Serial Set (starting with American State Papers, 1789-1838)

Includes Congressional Record from 1789 forward, sas well as other Congressional reports and document from the period 1789-1820

Key, freely available resource from the Library Congress

U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.

Full text, image-based searchable database of primary and secondary legal publications. Collections include: U.S. federal, state, and territories government documents; case reporters, legal periodicals and treatises; foreign government, multi-jurisdictional, and international law documents; canon law, Native American law, and legal philosophy.

Database of texts from the bound, sequentially numbered Congressional documents and reports from the U.S. House and Senate. Provides access to primary source material on all aspects of American history, including committee reports related to bills and other matters, presidential communications to Congress, treaty materials, certain executive department publications, and certain non-governmental publications.

Slavery, Abolition and Social justice features documents and collections that address slavery, its legacy and continued existence, and social justice issues related to its legacy. Coverage is from 1490 to 2008, and materials include original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps, and images.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Searchable database of the American Antiquarian Society's holdings of slavery and abolition materials that includes more than 3,500 works published over the course of more than 100 years.

Digital resource covering three centuries of Caribbean history from 1624 to 1870 drawn from the archives of the British Colonial Office. Records include: administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords. The colonies include: Anguilla, Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Berbice, Bermuda, British Guiana, British Honduras, British Virgin Islands, Curaçao, Demarara, Dominica, Essequibo, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Jamaica, Leeward Islands, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher (St. Kitts), St. Croix, Santo Domingo, St. Eustatius, St. Lucia, St. Thomas, St. Vincent, Suriname, Tobago, Tortola, Trinidad, and Turks and Caicos.

Digitized primary source collections support study and research of the territories colonised by Britain. Collections range from colonial, missionary and transatlantic relations to twentieth century political and social development, covering four-hundred years of world history. Each collection includes a detailed finding aid.

American Indian histories and cultures documents interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection.

Access via the ProQuest History Vault. American Indians and the American West consists of one module on American Indians and the American West from 1809-1971. This module contains several collections focusing on the interaction between American Indians and the U.S. government in the 19th and 20th Centuries. Notable collections in this module from the 19th Century focus on Indian Removal from 1832-1840, the U.S. Army and American Indians in the years from the 1850s-1890s, including detailed coverage of Indian Wars. The featured collections on the 20th Century are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.

Indigenous peoples, North America traces the history of Native Peoples in North America from colonial relations in the 1600s to twentieth-century issues such as civil rights. Includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, photos, and videos.

North American Indian Thought and Culture contains biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. Biographies include works on Quanah Parker, Dennis Banks, Susan La Flesche Picotte, Cochise, Jim Thorpe, Crowfoot, Peter Pitchlynn, Sacajawea, Geronimo, Hosteen Klah, Black Elk, Pocahontas, George Washington Grayson, Standing Buffalo, and many more.