Main newspaper databases:

• ProQuest News and Newspapers A key resource that includes ProQuest Historical Newspapers, with digitized reproductions of long runs of newspapers. Includes titles from the mainstream white press, such as The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, and Washington Post, as well as the following titles from the Black press: Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Los Angeles Sentinel, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, and The Pittsburgh Courier.

Key magazine databases:

• Opinion Archives

  Provides full-text searchable archives for journals of opinion, such as American Spectator, Commentary, Dissent, Harper's Magazine, New York Review of Books, The New Yorker, and The Weekly Standard.

• Publishers Weekly Digital Archive

  A useful starting point, this archive covers the publishing industry and includes book reviews, book advertisements, notices with information on book sales, etc. Leads here can point to where to go next in your search and help identify and figure out how to search specific newspapers and magazines for articles on James Baldwin and his writings.

• Reader's Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982

  An index to articles appearing in a wide range of popular magazines from around 1900 to the late 20th c. Please note: full text may not always be available, but you can always request an article of interest through our Interlibrary Loan department in cases where the PDF or a link to the PDF doesn't appear.

• Women's Magazine Archive

  A collection of women's interest magazines including Essence, a periodical for Black women, from volume 1 (1970) to volume 36 (2005). Click on the "Publications" link to find and browse/search the individual titles in this collection: Better Homes an