It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This resource provides information about popular music worldwide, from the early 20th century to the present day for those working in the disciplines of music, ethnomusicology and the performing arts to media and communication, cultural studies, anthropology and sociology. It includes the entirety of the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, the 33 1/3 series of books exploring key albums, and much more.
Contains Grove Music Online - the major encyclopedic work on music in English. Includes the Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed. Also includes increasing numbers of articles on music from other regions of the world, American music, and musical instruments. Gradually adding new articles on American and popular musics, musical instruments.
Brings together digitized entries from Oxford's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, spanning multiple subject areas, including Music and the Performing Arts. This source includes the full content of the Grove dictionaries of American Music and Musical Instruments. Access for 5 simultaneous users
This resource provides access to a curated collection of full-text content covering historical musicology, ethnomusicology and theory with focus on topics ranging from popular music, opera, instruments, blues and gospel, to recorded music and women composers.