In addition to chronicling dub's development and offering the first thorough analysis of the music itself, author Michael Veal examines dub's social significance in Jamaican culture and around the world.

Caribbean Dance from Abakuá to Zouk is an unprecedented overview of the dances from each of this region's major islands and the complex, fused, and layered cultures that gave birth to them.

This companion to Afro-Cuban Music picks up where that volume leaves off, focusing on the diffusion of Cuban popular musical styles throughout the Americas as well as the creation of new hybrids in places such as Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic, Mexico, Colombia, Venezuela and Latin New York. It documents literature on commercial Latin dance musics, from their emergence in the 1920s and '30s to the present. Other topics include regional styles as well as transnational idioms such as mambo, salsa, and merengue.
The book also treats U.S.-based regional scenes in New York, Miami, Los Angeles and San Francisco, as well as those found in Australia, Canada, France and Germany.
A comprehensive biographical section helps illustrate the crucial role played by more than a 1000 individual artists, dancers and others. Citations range in date from 1930 to 2011 and encompass materials in all major European languages, with an emphasis on English, Spanish and French.

A companion to the author's earlier volume Jamaican Popular Music, it offers a guide to the large body of materials available on masquerade and popular music traditions of the English-speaking Caribbean. It includes more than 85 years' of popular and scholarly literature, across disciplines as diverse as social and cultural history, anthropology, ethnomusicology, literature and economics. A Biographical and Critical Studies section documents the contributions by almost 600 individual performers and ensembles. Citations span from 1852 to 2012, with the bulk having been published between the 1930s and 2012. They encompass musical and cultural analyses, ethnographies, oral histories, popular histories and reportage along with a wealth of archival, audio-visual, and electronic resources. The book concludes with an extensive reference section that includes a list of Sources Consulted, a guide to relevant Libraries and Archives, two appendices, and separate Author and Subject Indexes.

Dictionary that includes composers, performers, bands, instruments, genre, teachers, periodicals, theaters, orchestras, etc. Avail. online and in the library in book form.

A bibliographic guide to the published literature on Jamaican Popular Music. Covers the diffusion of Jamaican music to other countries, as well as the careers of significant artists and producers.