It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
"Includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock." Also in print, Music Library Reference ML100 A641 2003
Biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers. This biographical dictionary emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives ample attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and showtunes across the ages - with unusual care devoted to coverage of the twentieth century.
Includes information on "musical terms, musical works, musical instruments, composers, librettists, musicians, singers, and orchestras. Earlier editions also available in print under the title The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music
This dictionary provides some help in the form of pronunciations by a phonetic system devised by E. Douglas Brown of the staff of WOI Radio at Iowa State University. Many of the pronunciations in the dictionary were derived from tape-recorded pronunciations made by foreign nationals who were were speaking their respective native languages.
Sooooo many dictionaries!
THESE DICTIONARIES ARE ARRANGED BY COUNTRY NAME...!
Seems every country has their own national dictionary. These are very valuable when it comes to finding information about more obscure figures or country-specific topics or instruments.
Australia's musical life has been remarkably diverse. This companion, the most complete reference to Australian music ever, ranges across a wide spectrum, from ancient Aboriginal traditions and European-derived orchestral, operatic, and concert music, to Australian folk, jazz, country, rock, and experimental music. The book's alphabetical entries include biographies of key figures and groups, major musical organizations and companies, musical works, genres, instruments, terms, and some of the historical and cultural contexts within which Australian music can be placed.
An extensive an up-to-date dictionary of music in Austria. Most entries are biographical (composers, performers, teachers, writers, and other important musical figures.) Also includes important articles on topics like geographical regions (e.g., Bohemia). Includes foreign figures as they relate to Austria.
Seems to be the only music dictionary that we have about Bolivian music (i.e., with that scope). Still, it is a selective biographical dictionary of performers, composers, orchestra directors, dancers/choregraphers, etc. Also includes some entries on musical institutions.
Very large 1 volume encyclopedia, the only one of its kind with such a coverage. Usual biographical coverage (composers, performers...) Ensembles (bands), instruments, genres, dances, and other topics are covered.
The physical version is a little dated (1992) but an online version is available (follow this link). Includes composers, performers, etc. but is probably more interesting for the topics it covers (e.g., ethno, winter, lakes, mountains, etc.)
Zhongguo yin yue jia ci dian = 中国音乐家辞典 by Huang, Shengquan.
Call Number: SML East Asia Library Reference, Rm 219: ML385 .Z456 2006
Covers modern and contemporary musicians (after 1919). Includes composers, conductors, singers, performers, theorists, educators, activists, lyricists/librettists, etc. Includes musicians from Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwant, and important overseas Chinese musicians.
Zhongguo yin yue, wu dao, xi qu ren ming ci dian = 中國音樂・舞蹈・戯曲人名詞典 by Cao, Chousheng.
Call Number: SML East Asia Library Reference, Rm 219 ML385 T8 (1959)
This biographical dictionary of Chinese Music, Dance, and Drama includes entries on singers, dancers, performers, theorists, songwriters, drama writers, instrument makers, actors, and circus workers. Each entry has a short bibliography. The coverage spans from ancient history to the end of the Qing Dynasty (1911).
Cultores de la música colombiana by ed. José I. Pinilla Aguilar
Call Number: SML ML385 .P56X
CAREFUL...this is in SML stacks. This is mostly a biographical dictionary but there is a great introduction to musical terms specific to Colombian music, especially terms that relate to rhythm. Covers mostly the late 19th and 20th century. National and folk music are covered.
Recent dictionary (2004) that includes composers, performers, bands, instruments, genre, teachers, periodicals, theaters, orchestras, etc. Avail. online and in the library in book form.
Slovník české hudební kultury by ed. Jiří Fukač & Jiří Vysloužil
Call Number: Ref ML101 C998 S6 (1997)
This is almost entirely about terminology, genres, forms, and topics. Almost no biographical entries. Very large articles about musicology, ethnomusicology, electronic music, etc. Topics are of course treated from a Czech perspective.
Enciclopedia de la música ecuatoriana by Guerrero Gutiérrez, Pablo.
Call Number: Ref ML101 E19 G9
Very extensive history of Ecuadorian music provided in the introduction (from Antiquity to our days). Contains a lot of biographical entries but also includes entries on the different facets of music like instruments, genres, associations, orchestras, and topics of various kinds.
ENGLAND & BRITISH ISLES
A biographical dictionary of English court musicians, 1485-1714 by comp. Andrew Ashbee and David Lasocki
Call Number: Ref ML106 G78 B6
A 2 volume dictionary which includes a very useful section about the different consorts (e.g., "The Private Music", Flute consorts, etc.) and their members active under the different monarchs. Another useful section illustrates family relationships among court musicians.
ENGLAND & BRITISH ISLES
Oxford Music Online by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell.
Call Number: ML100 G883 2001
The Grove is of course general but it covers a wide array of composers from the British Isles.
Eesti muusika biograafiline leksikon by ed. Eelhein, Ela.
Call Number: ML106 E81
This modest size dictionary includes only people/musicians (no terms, genres, topics, or other subjects covered)
Historical dictionary of the music and musicians of Finland by Hong, Barbara Blanchard.
Call Number: @LSF ML101 F511 H6
The only work of its kind in English. It covers composers, conductors, performers, teachers, critics, choruses, orchestras, academic societies, topics (e.g., folk music, festivals, etc.) A chronology of general Finnish history and of Finnish music are provided. A selective bibliography is also provided.
Dictionnaire de la musique by Honegger, Marc
Call Number: Ref ML100 D554 1986
This is in 2 parts: 1. Men and their works. 2. Techniques, forms, and instruments. This is ideal to complement Grove on French topics. It will also include more obscure French people/topics not covered elsewhere.
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart by Finscher, L.
Call Number: ML100 M987 1994+ Oversize
This is the place to start for German-specific topics. This reference book should complement the Grove nicely. For example, the article on J.S. Bach is over 100 pages long.
Prosopographia musica Graeca : Personenlexikon mit Daten zu 2350 (heidnischen) Musikern by Aspiōtēs, Nikolaos Stam.
Call Number: ML106 G79 A8
Biographical dictionary of Greek music in Antiquity. Provides brief bios followed by list of works, bibliography, and iconography. It covers mythological characters (e.g., Appolo sohn der Zeus...) for which iconographies are usually extensive.
Algemene muziek encyclopedie by ed. Robijns, Jozef
Call Number: Ref ML100 A394+
Extensive Dutch encyclopedia of music, Grove equivalent in that language. Some pop/jazz/folk coverage but limited.
See also "La musique au Pays-Bas" by Edmond Vander Straeter.
Ki kicsoda a magyar zeneéletben? by Székely, András.
Call Number: ML106 H936 K4 1988
This is a "Who's who" of Hungarian music. Current coverage only, no historical figures include (e.g., Liszt). Includes performers, composers, and other important musical figures.
Magyar zeneszerzők by Frideczky, Frigyes.
Call Number: ML106 H85 F75 (2000)
This is a short (200pp) dictionary of composers only. Covers historical figures like Liszt, Kodaly, Bartok, etc. but most of the coverage is 20th-cent. including many contemporary composers. Provides selective list of works for entries.
Dictionary of Icelandic composers by Marek Podhajski
Call Number: ML106 I15 P7 (circulating)
This short dictionary is mostly about contemporary Icelandic composers. Entries include bios, important works, discography, etc.
The dictionary of Hindustani classical music by Rôya Caudhurī, Vimalakānta.
Call Number: ML102.H56 R613X 2000
This is a systematic attempt at translating terms of classical Indian music into English. Most articles are short and define terms succinctly. Others are quite lenghty (e.g., raga) and provide numerous musical examples.
Call Number: Ref ML101 I39 O9+ Oversize and online
Publication Date: 2011-03-04
This 3-volume encyclopaedia consists of 5,000 entries, spanning musical genres from classical to film, and covering all forms of dance, across all regions of India. It also includes treatises, technical terms and instruments, as well as biographies on key individuals from vocalists to gurus, and poets to composers. With over 100 contributors working for 12 years, the range and breadth of this work is immense.
The companion to Irish traditional music by Vallely, Fintan.
Call Number: Ref ML101 I65 C7
Large number of biographical entries but also includes musical terms, genres, instruments, historical topics, ensembles, etc. Numerous musical examples.
Dizionario enciclopedico universale della musica e dei musicisti by Basso, Alberto
Call Number: Ref ML102 O6 D623+ Oversize
This dictionary of music and musicians is divided in 3 parts: terms, biography, and titles & characters. The last part is possibly the most interesting. For example, it provides excellent plots for operas, description of characters in these, different song settings for specific texts, etc. The terms section is probably the best source to get definition of Italian terms.
Nihon ongaku daijiten = 日本音楽大事典 = Encyclopedia of music in Japan
by ed. Hirano, Kenji et al.
Call Number: East Asia Library: ML101 J3 N53 1989
Covers historically significant performers, monks/composers, singers, scholars, etc. Includes some non-Western figures (e.g., Kurt Sachs) Musical topics are also covered, for example, a useful genealogy of Gagaku is provided, history of shamisen, etc.
An extensive listing of musical terms in English / Italian / French / German / Russian (in Cyrillic) translated into Korean.
Lietuviai muzikai vakaruose by Jautokaitė, Saulė K & Žilevičius, Juozas.
Call Number: LSF ML106 L58 L54 1999
The title translates to "Lithuanian music in the West" which seems to imply a restricted scope. Includes lots of composers but also performers, singers and all kinds of music personalities like choir directors, kappelmeisters, etc.
Interpreți din Moldova : lexicon enciclopedic (1460-1960). by Buzilă, Serafim.
Call Number: ML106 M717 B9
The only work of its kind that we seem to own. Includes 780 names from all the professions of music as choir directors, conductors, popular music singers, pianists, violonists and all kinds of instrumentalists. Each performer entry includes discography, bibliography, and a list of collaborators.
Biographical dictionary of New Zealand composers. by Thomson, John Mansfield.
Call Number: ML106 N532 T4
"Serious composers in the European/American tradition" are covered. Introduction includes a brief history of classical music in the country. Three interesting appendices: 1. musical organizations; 2. recording companies; 3. publishing companies. List of works, writings, and bibliography are provided for each composer.
Diccionario de la música en el Paraguay by Szarán, Luis.
Call Number: ML101 P222 S9
This is a general music dictionary with most articles focusing on biography. Still, many entries are about musical instruments, genre, forms, and other topics. A very extensive history of music in Paraguay is provided in the inttroduction (including role of native people). Mostly about classical music but a fair amount of material devoted to folk music.
Słownik muzyków polskich by ed. Chomińsky, Józef
Call Number: Ref ML106 P76 S6
Dictionary of Polish musicians which covers the usual important characters involved in music such as composers, performers, singers, educators, librettists, musicologists, etc. A majority of entries have extensive bibliographies. The bulk of the entries seem to be on the 19th century but includes entries on previous centuries and 20th century.
Słownik muzyków polskich dawnych i nowoczesnych kompozytorów, wirtuozów, śpiewaków, instrumencistów, lutnistów, organmistrzów, poetów lirycznych i miłośników sztuki muzycznej... by Sowiński, Albert.
Call Number: SML, Slavic & East European Reference, Room 406 (Non-Circ)
Dictionary of polish (ancient, classic and contemporary) compositors, virtuosos, singers, instrumentalists, lyric poets, lovers of musical art, etc. : contains a short description of history of Polish music, descriptions of ancient paintings representing old and classical polish instruments, within the musical notes and picture of authors/musicians.
Biographical dictionary of Russian/Soviet composers by ed. Allan Ho and Dmitry Feofanov
Call Number: Ref ML106 R96 H6 (1989)
Provides brief bios with lists of works and sources for further biographical info. Substantial discography included.
SPAIN and Latin American Countries
Diccionario de la Musica Espanola e Hispanoamericana by Casares Rodicio, Emilio
Call Number: Ref ML 101 S733 D5+
Mostly biographical entries but also covers instruments, geographical regions, etc.
SWEDEN & NORWAY
Cappelens musikkleksikon by ed. Michelsen, Kari
Call Number: ML100 C247+
Swedish/Norwegian equivalent of Grove (published in Stockholm and revised in Oslo). Covers classical, jazz, pop, folk, opera, ballet, instrumental music, music history and theory, and much more. Obviously, a good starting point for any Nordic composer. Composer entries include list of works.
Schweizer Komponisten unserer Zeit : Biographien, Werkverzeichnisse mit Diskographie und Bibliographie = Compositeurs suisses de notre temps : biographies, catalogues d’oeuvres avec discographie et bibliographie = Compositori sviz
Call Number: Ref ML390 S413 S8 1993
Biographies in French, German, or Italian, with English translation.
Schweizer Musiker-Lexikon by Schuh, Willi.
Call Number: Ref ML106 S979 S4
Bilingual (German-French) dictionary of composers, performers, conductors and other musical figures born in Switzerland. Non-Swiss musicians have been included as they relate to Switzerland. Aims to provide complete lists of works for composers. 789 entries. No pop or folk included.
臺灣音樂百科辭書 = Encyclopedia of Taiwan music by Chen, Yuxiu & Yuxiu Lü.
Call Number: SML ML101.T28 T35 (2008)
Primarily in Chinese. The encyclopedia is divided in three major parts: 1. Aboriginal music 2. Han Chinese traditional music in Taiwan 3. Contemporary music and music education including performers, singers, composers, etc. A substantial bibliography is included.
Enciclopedia de la música en Venezuela
by Peñín, José & Walter Guido
Call Number: Ref ML101 V456 E5+
Extensive 2 volumes encyclopedia. Interesting history and historiography provided in the introduction. Large number of biographical entries but also covers important topics such popular and folk music. Very substantial articles on topics such as dances (Bailes). List of works, discography are provided for composers.
25 years ago, the four volumes of the first edition of this dictionary initiated a great expansion in American music scholarship. The articles of the dictionary range from small definitions of dance styles and musical terms to mid-length biographies of important performers, composers, and music patrons, to longer examinations of larger subjects such as the history of jazz, musical instruments, music education in the US and the American history of the orchestra.