It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
Includes information on "musical terms, musical works, musical instruments, composers, librettists, musicians, singers, and orchestras. Earlier editions also available in print under the title The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music
"Includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock." Also in print, Music Library Reference ML100 A641 2003
Derived from the classic Oxford Dictionary of Music, this is an authoritative dictionary of music available online (but also physically at the music library) Covers most periods and styles.
The Norton/Grove concise encyclopedia of music by ed. Stanley Sadie
Call Number: ML100 N884 (1988)
A little dated but this is not an issue with that type of work. Intended for a student and music lover readership. Scope similar to Grove's (composers, performers, terminology, etc.) but obviously less details!
The Harvard concise dictionary of music and musicians by ed. Don Michael Randel
Call Number: Ref ML100 H339 (1999)
Primarly a book devoted to Western classical music. Includes performers of classical but also some jazz and pop, terms, instruments, titles of works, etc.
The Oxford companion to music by ed. Alison Latham
Call Number: ML100 .S36 (2002)
Mostly on Classical music composers, performers,, etc. There was a serious effort to include as much ethnological topics as possible. Pop is surveyed very lightly.
Other Shorter Dictionaries Worth Considering
Random House encyclopedic dictionary of classical music by ed. David Cummings
Call Number: Ref ML100 R194 (1997)
Only classical music is covered. Intended for a wide audience. Lost of illustr. and famous quotes. Good intro to composers and topics but only at a superficial level.
Baker’s dictionary of music by Nicolas Slonimsky
Call Number: Ref ML100 B168 (1997)
Slonimsky needs no introduction. This work will give you access to a great mind's thoughts on music (composers, performers, etc.) Covers classical but also some pop/jazz/folk/gospel. General audience. Very readable with nice illustr.