Yale University Library Research Guides: Vocal Music: Opera

Websites

The following websites provide a variety of resources for opera performers and students.

A Timeline of American Opera
More than 150 years of American opera, including premieres and other significant events.
Digital Scores and Libretti Collection
The Loeb Music Library (Harvard) is engaged in an ongoing program to digitize scores and libretti selected for their rare or unique natures and their popularity as objects of research and teaching.
Historic Opera
Provides scans of a large number of postcards and early photographs of opera singers, composers, and locations.
List of Operas Companies
NAXOS Opera Synopses
Part of Naxos's education page at their commercial site : Synopses of Operas, Index of Operas by composer, Opera Libretti.
Opera (Bowling Green State University)
This Opera guide provides resources for opera history, reference materials, companies, staging, and analysis.
Opera America
"Opera America serves and strengthens the field of opera by providing a variety of informational, technical, and administrative resources to the greater opera community. Its fundamental mission is to promote opera as exciting and accessible to individuals from all walks of life."
Operabase
Opera Glass
Information on many operas, including libretti, synopses, performance histories and discographies. Links to the home pages of about 350 opera companies world-wide.
Opera Magazine
OPERA provides coverage of events through a mixture of reviews (live performances, recordings, books), features and analysis, plus monthly listings of events worldwide.
Opera Today
The website provides reviews of current performances, recordings and books, interviews of performers, commentary and links to recent news items.

Databases

Search these databases to find helpful resources for the study and performance of opera.

The Aria Database is a collection of information about opera and operatic arias. Besides providing basic information about each aria, the Database includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions. The Database also provides access to a collection of operatic sound files to give visitors an idea of what each aria sounds like.

Metopera Database

The database provides access to information on the Metropolitan's past performances. New performances are added weekly.

See also general music databases listed here.

Music Librarian for Reference and Instruction

Suzanne Lovejoy

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

ML104, Music Library, Sterling Memorial Library
Office hours 10:00 a.m. - 6 p.m. weekdays

(203) 432-0497

Subjects: Music

Journals of Interests

Cambridge Opera Journal - older issues available via JSTOR, 1989-2004.
Journal of Voice - current issues available via ScienceDirect, 1995-Present.
Opera Quaterly - online issues available via Project MUSE, 2002-Present.

Vocal Music: Opera