Yale University Library Research Guides: Religion in Latin America & the Caribbean: Primary Sources

Archives at Yale

Jonathan Edwards Center at Yale University
The Works of Jonathan Edwards Online is a collection of writings and articles from Jonathan Edwards. The collection contains edited published works and raw manuscripts.
Latin America Collection in the Theological Commons from Princeton Theological Seminary is
A growing digital collection that currently contains over 3,000 books and periodicals in theology, biblical studies, and related fields — all freely accessible online
Yale Divinity Library Special Collections Online Resources
Includes missionary papers, mission agency reports.
Archives at Yale
This database consists of finding aids for archival and manuscript materials at Yale University.

Digital Archives

Evangelism in Latin America : correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1854-1911
The American Presbyterian Church was committed at its inception to the belief that it is a missionary church and that every member is a missionary. The establishment in 1837 of the Presbyterian Church's Board of Foreign Missions signaled the beginning of a worldwide missionary operation destined to embrace some fifteen countries in four different continents. The records offered here provide invaluable information on social conditions in Latin America and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century. Documenting the church's educational, evangelical, and medical work, these are records mainly of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board headquarters.
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera (Princeton)
The bulk of the materials currently found in the Digital Archive were originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. The vast majority are rare, hard-to-find primary sources unavailable elsewhere.

Digital Resources

Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera (Princeton)
The bulk of the materials currently found in the Digital Archive were originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. The vast majority are rare, hard-to-find primary sources unavailable elsewhere.
FBI File on the American churchwomen killed in El Salvador, December 2, 1980
The file consists of information on the 1980 murder of four churchwomen in El Salvador and the subsequent investigations and meetings. There are meeting minutes, notes, newspaper clippings, memos and legal documents.
Also available on microfilm - check ORBIS for call number.
History of Religiosity in Latin America Online, c. 1830-1970
The imprints of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries that reflect local devotions and syncretist rituals, religious iconography and poetry, and the pastoral campaigns of the various churches and sects. Reproduces selections from the library of the Centro Intercultural de Documentación CIDOC (now part of the Biblioteca Cosío Villegas at the Colegio de México).

Microfilm Resources

Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. Board of Foreign Missions.

Archives of the Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. Board of Foreign Missions, 1833-1964.

Philadelphia: Graphic Microfilm Corp, 1955, 1960, 1973.

Divinity Special Collections: Film Ms11

Arranged by country:

Brazil, 1886-1911; Reels 153-160, 220, 242-244:

Chile, 1872-1910; Reels 189-218, 232-237, 244-261:

Colombia, 1872-1910; Reels 160-162, 226-227:

Guatemala, 1882- -1911; Reels 135-148:

Latin America, 1865-1893; Reels 162-173, 227-229, 285-287:

Mexico, 1872-1911; Reel 229:

Peru, 1885-1887.

The Presbyterian Church had an interest in missions from its formation. Their focus was proclaimed at the General Assembly of 1847, to aid in the conversion of the world. They began with ministry to the Indians in the United States, and extended to countries all over the world. The papers include manuscript letters, newspaper clippings, financial reports, reports of meetings and extracts from books or pamphlets. The mission work of the Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. Board of Foreign Missions is well-documented for the countries of India, China, Iran, Syria, Japan, Korea, Siam, Latin America, the Philippines and Africa. Also of interest are records of the Gaboon and Corisco Mission and the West Africa Mission. Originals owned by the Presbyterian Historical Society, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. All rights reserved. Archives of the Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. Board of Foreign Missions.

Methodist Missionary Society Archives, 1769-1948.

Yale University Divinity School Library

The archives document the work of the Wesleyan Methodist Missionary Society in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, the Caribbean region and North America. Of special interest is extensive material on Dr. Thomas Coke, assistant to Wesley. Also included is material on the Women's Work organization and the Primitive Methodist Missionary Society.

Iglesia en America Latina.

[Montreal, Que.] : IDAL ; [Toronto : Publicado en microfichas por Bell & Howell], 1977.

Divinity Library, Fiche B3323

Serie I ; dossiers 1/9.

This set is composed of 747 documents, 58 microfiches, and 5, 678 pages.

1. Iglesia en America Latina (en general)

2. Iglesia en Argentina

3. Iglesia en Brasil

4. Iglesia en Chile

5. Iglesia en Perú

6. Iglesia en Uruguay

7. Iglesia en Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay y Venezuela

8. Iglesia en Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, México, Nicaragua y Panama

9. Iglesia en Cuba, Haiti, Puerto Rico y Republica Dominicana.

Princeton University Latin American Microfilm Collection

This microfilm collection offers a number of publications that provide access to perspectives on and information from groups that have been marginalized for political, social or geographical reasons.

Argentina

Church materials from Argentina

Bolivia

Church materials from Bolivia

Brazil

Church and religion in Brazil

Chile

Church materials from Chile