Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

British Eighteenth-Century Studies Electronic Resources: Reference and Secondary Sources

Links to selected electronic resources for British eighteenth-century studies.

General Abstracts, Bibliographies, Catalogs, and Indexes

Here are abstracts, bibliographies, catalogs, and indexes covering Britain in the long eighteenth century.

Newspapers and Periodicals Indexes

Here are links to indexes of period newspapers and periodicals from the long eighteenth century

Art, Music, and Theatre

Here are abstracts, bibliographies, catalogs, indexes, and biographical and general reference sources related to Art, Music, and the Theatre that include in Britian in the eighteenth century.

Biographical Resources

Here are sources for biographical information. See also Art, Music, and Theatre above.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Special Topics -- America and the British World, Verse, etc.

Resources listed here cover reference materials for particular locations, groups, and experiences connected to the long eighteenth century in Britain.

JSTOR

Manuscript and Archives Repositories Elsewhere

Catalogue of Prints and Drawings in the British Museum: Division I. Political and Personal Satires

This Catalogue comprises descriptions, historical and biographical explanations and illustrations, measurements, and other details of satirical prints and drawings in the British Museum. Volumes include introductory essays, and later volumes include indexes. Volumes 8 and 11 available temporarily through Hathi Trust. 

Digitized Standard Secondary Sources Referred to in Orbis Catalogue Records for Images

Digitized Texts in Large Online Collections