Skip to main content

Latin American & Caribbean Resources at Yale Library: Online Encyclopedias

Welcome to the Latin American Collection at Yale University Library. In this guide you will find library resources for your research on Latin America and the Caribbean at Yale University Library.

Online Encyclopedias

Wiley Online Library

These reference works are available through Wiley Online Library (click Wiley Online above): 

  • 100 Years of Spanish Cinema
  • A Companion to Luis Buñuel
  • A Companion to Pedro Almodóvar
  • A Companion to Spanish Cinema

Oxford Reference

These reference works are available through Oxford Reference (click Oxford Reference above):

  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Culture
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinos in the United States

Cambridge Companions Online

Credo General Reference

These reference works are available through Credo (click Credo General Reference above):

  • Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture
  • Mexico: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Culture and History
  • Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
  • A Companion to Hispanic Studies
  • Companion to Latin American Studies
  • Iberia & the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
  • Pop Culture Latin America! Media, Arts and Lifestyle
  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature

 Blackwell Reference Online

These reference works are available through Blackwell (click Blackwell Reference Online above):

  • A Companion to Border Studies.  Edited by: Thomas M. Wilson and Hastings Donnan
  • A Companion to Latin American Literature and Culture.  Edited by: Sara Castro-Klaren
  • A Companion to Latin American History.  Edited by: Thomas H. Holloway
  • A Companion to Mexican History and Culture.  Edited by: William H. Beezley

Film:

  • A Companion to Spanish Cinema.  Edited by: Jo Labanyi and Tatjana Pavlović
  • A Companion to Film Theory.  Edited by: Toby Miller and Robert Stam
  • A Companion to Literature and Film. Edited by: Robert Stam and Alessandra Raengo
  • A Companion to Literature, Film and Adaption.  Edited by: Deborah Cartmell

Linguistics:

  • The Handbook of Hispanic Linguistics.  Edited by: José Ignacio Hualde, Antxon Olarrea and Erin O'Rourke
  • The Handbook of Hispanic Sociolinguistics.  Edited by: Manuel Díaz-Campos
  • The Handbook of Bilingualism.  Edited by: Tej K. Bhatia and William C. Ritchie

Gale Virtual Reference Library