Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale Library

Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale University: Reproductions

Order Reproductions

Yale Library special collections provide broad access to their collection materials for personal research use, teaching, and educational purposes, under the provisions of Title 17, Section 108 of United States copyright law.

Instructions for ordering reproductions of items from the library's special collections are included below. If you have any questions, please contact the specific owning repository. Contact information for special collection units at Yale can be found on the Home page of this guide.

Please note that Yale Library is currently piloting a new service to support digitization of its collections. You will receive a confirmation email once the processing of your order begins. Due to a heavy volume of requests, turnaround time after confirmation to digitize the materials requested is currently 10 - 14 weeks.* This is only an estimate. Your order may take a different amount of time, depending on the complexity of order, condition of material, and availability of staff. We will do our best to keep to that turnaround time, but circumstances may make the process take longer.  

*We are adjusting workflows to meet current demand and will update expected turnaround time in this guide as it changes

How to Submit a Request

To initiate a photoduplication request, you must be registered to use Special Collections at Yale.  If you have not yet registered in the system, you’ll need to create a new account. More information is available in the Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale: Register.

How to submit a request:

  1. Find the item you want in one of the Yale Library catalogs (Orbis, Quicksearch, or Archives at Yale). For further details about finding special collections materials see Find and Request. Keep this tab open for filling out the form. The steps for requesting items varies slightly between systems.
  2. Open a new tab on your browser window and log into your Aeon account.
  3. From the top menu select "Digital Copies."
  4. If you discovered the item in Archives at Yale:
    1. Select the repository where the item is located from the drop-down menu.
    2. Slowly type the Call Number into the form. The form will show a drop-down menu of options.
    3. Select the appropriate Call Number from the drop-down menu.
    4. Select the Series or Addition number from the drop-down menu.
    5. Select box from drop-down menu.
    6. Enter folder numbers.
    7. Title and Author should automatically populate.
    8. Select your desired digital file format.
    9. Use the "Notes" field to fill in any other details that will help us fulfill your request.
    10. Submit the request.
  5. If you discovered the item in Orbis or Quicksearch:
    1. Select the repository where the item is located from the drop-down menu.
    2. Copy all relevant data from the item record in Orbis or Quicksearch, including, Call Number, Title, Author, Volume, to the corresponding fields in the request form. (ignore any drop-down menu data that pops up)
    3. Select your desired digital file format.
    4. Use the "Notes" field to fill in any other details that will help us fulfill your request.
    5. Submit the request.

Service Details

Please note that all requests are subject to review by Yale Library Access Services staff. The library reserves the right to revise an order due to preservation concerns or time constraints. If an order must be changed to a different format, the patron will be notified of the change.

DOCUMENTS

Turnaround time and delivery

  • Due to heavy volume of requests, our recent turnaround time has been 10-14 weeks.  We are adjusting our workflows to meet current demand
  • Files will be delivered electronically, and may arrive in multiple transfers over time

Order Limits

  • Bound Volumes: Book, non-illuminated: Up to 600 pages from 2 volumes
  • Oversize Items (e.g. maps, posters, blueprints - larger than 24 x 18 inches): 15-20 items
  • Unbound Documents: Up to 4 folders
  • Photographs & Prints: Up to 600 prints
  • Pamphlets: Up to 600 pages from 1-4 pamphlets

Copyright

  • The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these conditions is that the copy is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user will be liable for any copyright infringement. For further information about copyright, permissions and fair use, see Copyright Guidance: Basics.

Formats

  • Scans of paper materials are provided as 400 ppi color PDFs. All pages are combined into a single PDF file for each volume / folder of material requested. If you require higher quality images or different formats, please indicate the desired format and resolution on the photoduplication form.
  • Copies of materials that are already in digital form (born digital), will be provided in their native format.

Costs

  • Orders for document scans are free at this time.  Charges for AV digitization are outlined below.

AUDIOVISUAL

  • Audiovisual materials are digitized in line with Yale University Library's digitization guidelines.
  • A quote for this request will be emailed to you for approval before the materials are sent to a vendor for digitization
  • Turnaround time is approximately 6-8 weeks
  • If the materials requested are already available digitally, you will be contacted with an offer to stream the recordings for 30 days, free of charge.