It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Since 1978, an annual of review articles that summarize key research and emerging issues. Includes extensive bibliographies.Topics include molecular and cellular neuroscience, neurogenetics, development, plasticity and repair, systems neuroscience, cognitive neuroscience, behavior, neurobiology of disease, and ethics.
This 5000-page masterwork is literally the last word on the topic and will be an essential resource for many. Unique in its breadth and detail, this encyclopedia offers a comprehensive and highly readable guide to a complex and fast-expanding field. The five-volume reference work gathers more than 10,000 entries, including in-depth essays by internationally known experts, and short keynotes explaining essential terms and phrases. In addition, expert editors contribute detailed introductory chapters to each of 43 topic fields ranging from the fundamentals of neuroscience to fascinating developments in the new, inter-disciplinary fields of Computational Neuroscience and Neurophilosophy. Some 1,000 multi-color illustrations enhance and expand the writings.
The Encyclopedia of the Human Brain places information in a single source and contains clearly written summaries on what is known of the human brain. Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this four-volume encyclopedia contains over 200 peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world. The Encyclopedia articles range in size from 5-30 printed pages each, and contain a definition paragraph, glossary, outline, and suggested readings, in addition to the body of the article. Lavishly illustrated, the Encyclopedia includes over 1000 figures, many in full color.
The second edition of an essential resource to the evolving field of developmental cognitive neuroscience, completely revised, with expanded emphasis on social neuroscience, clinical disorders, and imaging genomics. The publication of the second edition of this handbook testifies to the rapid evolution of developmental cognitive neuroscience as a distinct field. Brain imaging and recording technologies, along with well-defined behavioral tasks -- the essential methodological tools of cognitive neuroscience -- are now being used to study development. Technological advances have yielded methods that can be safely used to study structure-function relations and their development in children's brains. These new techniques combined with more refined cognitive models account for the progress and heightened activity in developmental cognitive neuroscience research. The Handbook covers basic aspects of neural development, sensory and sensorimotor systems, language, cognition, emotion, and the implications of lifelong neural plasticity for brain and behavioral development. The second edition reflects the dramatic expansion of the field in the seven years since the publication of the first edition. This new Handbook has grown from forty-one chapters to fifty-four, all original to this edition. It places greater emphasis on affective and social neuroscience -- an offshoot of cognitive neuroscience that is now influencing the developmental literature. The second edition also places a greater emphasis on clinical disorders, primarily because such research is inherently translational in nature. Finally, the book's new discussions of recent breakthroughs in imaging genomics include one entire chapter devoted to the subject. The intersection of brain, behavior, and genetics represents an exciting new area of inquiry, and the second edition of this essential reference work will be a valuable resource for researchers interested in the development of brain-behavior relations in the context of both typical and atypical development.
This atlas combines the precision and beauty of 325 Netter and Netter-style illustrations with updated information to reflect our growing understanding of the many regions and systems of the brain, spinal cord, and periphery. Provides an overview of the basic features of the spinal cord, brain, and peripheral nervous system, the vasculature, meninges and cerebrospinal fluid, and basic development. Uses a regional organization of the peripheral nervous system, spinal cord, brain stem and cerebellum, and forebrain. Offers a systemic organization of the sensory motor systems, motor systems (including cerebellum and basal ganglia), and limbic/hypothalmic/autonomic systems. Format of color plate with legend -- legends included on the same page as the illustrations to prevent the need for turning pages back and forth. Several tightly organized tables included to eliminate the need for long or detailed figure descriptions or text. These tables are useful aides to student learning. Schematic cross-sectional brain stem anatomy, and side-by-side comparisons of horizonal sections, CTs and MRs, eliminate the need for an additional purchase of a detailed neuroanatomy atlas. Netter's well-recognized and aesthetically pleasing neurosciences illustrations updated to reflect today's science.
Edited and authored by a wealth of international experts in neuroscience and related disciplines, this vital new resource offers medical students and graduate researchers around the world a comprehensive introduction and overview of modern neuroscience.
> 2670 protocols in the areas of: antibodies, bioiniformatics/genomics, cell biology, computational biology, DNA delivery/gene transfer, genetics, immunology, laboratory organisms, molecular biology, neuroscience, plant biology, stem cells. From Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press manual and courses. New protocols are solicited by editorial staff.
> 35,000 protocols in the life and biomedical sciences including biochemistry, biotechnology, microbiology, neuroscience, cancer research, PCR, genomics, protein science, plant sciences, pharmacology, toxicology. Includes protocols on video.
> 17,000 searchable or browsable protocols in the areas of bioinformatics, cell biology, human genetics, immunology, microbiology, molecular biology, mouse biology, neuroscience, nucleic acid chemistry, pharmacology, protein science, stem cell biology, toxicology.
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
Typical test entries include descriptive information, two professional reviews, and reviewer references. To be reviewed in the MMY a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new, revised, or widely used since it last appeared in the MMY series.
Included are all types of measurement instruments, including: Checklists, Coding Schemes, Indexes, Interviews, Projective Techniques, Questionnaires, Rating Scales, Surveys, Tasks, Tests, and Vignettes/Scenarios. From published studies from peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, technical reports, and test publishers' catalogs.
One of the largest sources of biomedical information on the web, currently searching over 13,000 research resources, and the contents of 250+ data resources comprising of more than 800 million records.
This table lists NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse. Most accept submissions of appropriate data from NIH-funded investigators (and others), but some restrict data submission to researchers in a specific research network
The Brain Biodiversity Bank is a repository of images and information about brain specimens contained in the collections associated with the National Museum of Health and Medicine at the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology in Washington, DC.
BrainMaps.org, launched in May 2005, is an interactive, multiresolution next-generation brain atlas that is based on over 140 million megapixels of sub-micron resolution, annotated, scanned images of serial sections of both primate and non-primate brains and that is integrated with a high-speed database for querying and retrieving data about brain structure and function over the internet.