This database contains English-language newspapers primarily from the United States but has The Globe and Mail (1844-2009), The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003), Irish Times (1859-2011) and Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958), and The Scotsman (1817-1950).
DPLA is a platform that aggregates the content of many other major collections, such as Hathi Trust, Internet Archive, NYPL, the Smithsonian, the National Archives, ARTStor, and many other large digital collections.
Internet archiveMany historical sources that have been digitized can also be found at the Internet Archive.
George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 180,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.
"The most important publication to consult before beginning research on U.S. foreign policy is the series Foreign Relations of the United States, commonly referred to as FRUS. This series, prepared and issued by the Department of State since 1861, is a compilation of selected documents from the files of the Department of State, the White House, and other agencies. It presents a historical view of American foreign policy." Part of the Hein Online database. Access is limited to Yale University
Based on physical collections held at Michigan State University, the official mission of this site is "preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s." You can find hundreds of documents through a simple search for "oil" or browse by country and other criteria to narrow your results.
The Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW) started in 1967 with six Vietnam veterans marching for peace in New York City. The purpose of the organization was to give voice to the returning servicemen who opposed the on-going war in Southeast Asia. From six soldiers in 1967, the ranks of the membership eventually grew to over 30,000. This publication consists of FBI reports dealing with every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the VVAW. The collection also includes surveillance on a variety of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations.
Primary source documents covering women's social movements from 1600 to 2000. This collection documents the multiplicity of reform activities with thousands of pages of books, images, and documents as well as introductory material, scholarly essays, a chronology, a bibliography, lesson plans, and other teaching tools.