Documents the period of rapid colonial expansion by European powers across the African continent during the late nineteenth and early twentieth century. From the accounts of missionaries and European explorers navigating the interior of the continent in the early nineteenth century; to the rise in European desire for increased power, empire and wealth culminating in the Berlin Conference 1885-1886; to the subsequent power struggles, negotiations and conflicts that raged across the continent at the turn of the twentieth century, the documents within Africa and the New Imperialism charts Africa's encounters with European imperialist regimes and their impact on the lives of peoples across the continent.

Digitized primary source collections support study and research of the territories colonized by Britain as well as domestic British history. Collections range from colonial, missionary and transatlantic relations to twentieth century political and social development, covering over four-hundred years of world history.

Caribbean history from 1624 to 1870 drawn from the archives of the British Colonial Office. Records include: administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords. Yale currently has access to Module 1. Settlement, Slavery, and Empire, 1624-1832.

Colonial state papers provides access to papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.

Confidential print, Africa brings together documents relating to events in Africa generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices from 1834 to 1966. It includes files, letters, telegrams, treaties, and other texts on most countries and territories of Africa.

Confidential print, Middle East features documents generated by the British government’s Foreign and Colonial Offices relating to events in the Middle East, such as the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 19th century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Brings together files from five UK government departments to provide access to detailed, previously classified information on the intelligence services of Britain and her Empire throughout the 20th century.

Documents on British Policy Overseas provides users with access to a wide range of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, shedding light on throughout the twentieth century. Selected and edited by the official historians of the FCO, Documents on British Policy Overseas includes many documents specifically de-classified for inclusion in the series.

Access to primary source documents from the India Office Records at the British Library in London. Containing royal charters, records of council meetings and resolutions, correspondence, legislation, lists of personnel, printed books, etcetera. This resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1595 to 1947.

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.

This digital collection makes available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Allows access to eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and anlyses, economic assessments, synopses on Chinese personalities, and more.

Comprises diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works on the subjects of Indian history, politics, and society. The collection focuses on the 18th and 19th centuries. The collection includes the writings of Governors-General, Commanders-in-Chief, Indian princes, soldiers, traders, missionaries, explorers, historians and authors of literary works, indigo farmers and tea and coffee planters.

This online database provides information about South Asians in Britain from 1870 to 1950, the organizations they were involved in, their British connections, and the major events in which they participated.

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies is an index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Over 12,000 records of recently published & "grey" literature are added annually. The database is comprised of the following five datafiles:

Features primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Includes a variety of material types: monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Of note in this collection: British politics and society; British theatre, music, and literature; Children's literature and childhood.

Government documents related to pre- and post- Independence South Asia.

Digitized archives of the Royal Geographical Society covering the British Empire from approximately 1478-1953. The collection covers the history of geography, environmental history, exploration, colonization and decolonization, anthropology, law, climate science, gender studies, cartography, and environmental history. The content contains a range of primary sources, including manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, proceedings, maps, charts, atlases, photographs, surveys, data, and ephemera presented as digital images, with searchable text and metadata, on a platform which allows for visual and textual analyses.

The collection comprises literature written originally in English by writers who either were born in or identify themselves culturally with India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, and Fiji. Because the South and Southeast Asian Diasporas are so widely cast, the collection also includes the work of writers living or working in Africa, the United Kingdom, North America, and the Caribbean.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Includes newspapers published in Africa, Latin America, and South Asia during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

CRL has hundreds of historical newspapers available through their catalog. Search under "Newspapers," or browse by country. These are available through InterLibrary Loan.