Skip to main content

Resources on Women at Yale : Home

Contains annotated references to archival resources on women students, faculty, and other members of the Yale community.

SHE: Information for Women at Yale handbook, c. 1971 (Local record 44367)

Welcome!

Welcome to the Resources on Women at Yale LibGuide. This guide was created in celebration of the 150th anniversary of women enrolling as students at Yale University. However, over the entire course of Yale's history women have played active - if often hidden roles - in the University, other than as students: as patrons and supporters in various capacities, staff, and faculty. This LibGuide provides a look at the long and varied history of women at Yale in all of these guises and more. Source material comes from the Yale University Archives, giving researchers the opportunity to explore Yale's rich body of records and illuminate women's lives at Yale, past and present. 

This LibGuide focuses on the broader institutional history of women at Yale, rather than on specific individuals or "famous firsts." Special attention has been given to organizations and programs that have represented Yale women historically, from clubs for wives of male faculty and students to feminist undergraduate organizations. There is also a separate LibGuide on Yale College's transition to coeducation specifically, which may be of interest; some of the collections on that LibGuide are also noted here.

Selected tabs at the top of this LibGuide provide annotated lists of Yale University record collections and other primary source material. The majority of the collection content is open for research. Requests for access to restricted records can be made by contacting the Yale University Archives at archives@yale.edu

University Archivist

Starting Your Research

This guide is intended to facilitate research on the history of women at Yale. There are a wealth of primary sources to explore related to the multifaceted history of women as part of the University's community.

Users will find resources in the tabs above, many of which lead to a more focused list of sources. Almost all of the primary sources can be found at Manuscripts and Archives in Sterling Memorial Library. Materials can be ordered by researchers through Archives at Yale and used in the Manuscripts and Archives reading room. Please note that in general these materials are stored off-site; researchers who wish to view these materials will need to order them at least forty-eight hours in advance of their visit. For more information on user policies for Manuscripts and Archives, please click here.

While this guide provides a broad overview of Yale’s institutional collections related to women and women's experiences, it is not exhaustive. Researchers who are interested in particular aspects of these histories are encouraged to search the finding aids using specific keywords (i.e., “Title IX,” “Women’s studies courses,” “Lucinda Foote,” etc.) Researchers can also reach out to Manuscripts and Archives staff with any questions. For more specialized topics, it is likely that researchers will find collections where only some of the boxes or folders – not the entire collection – are relevant. Any restrictions on archival material will be noted on a collection’s finding aid.

We hope that this guide will help you explore this crucial aspect of Yale University’s history!