Yale University Library Research Guides: HIST 296J: Chornobyl: A History of Energy and the Environment: Home

Getting Started

Quicksearch - Yale Library's main search portal for books, journals, digital images, and journal articles.

WorldCat - A database of worldwide catalog records. Each title you search for will list institutions that hold the item.

HathiTrust - Digital library containing millions of volumes from participating institutions. The entire repository is full-text searchable, though items under copyright are not fully viewable.

Important News Databases

Current Digest of the Russian Press
This database, available through a Yale University Library subscription, contains selected stories from the Russian-language press translated into English, starting with current issues and going back to 1949.
FBIS Daily Reports
From 1941 to 2005, the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) intercepted and translated foreign newswires for American intelligence. This Yale database contains newswire translations from various countries, including Russia and the FSU, from 1941-1996.
Nexis Uni
The new interface for LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni is one of Yale's many newspaper databases. You can search for aggregate results on a topic across regions and countries.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
An EBSCO database containing news reports as well as citations for scholarly articles indexed from journals covering topics in mass media and communication.

Chornobyl: Primary Sources

Sarcophagus by Vladimir Gubaryev; Michael Glenny (Translator); Robert P. Gale (Preface by)
Call Number: PG3481.6 U225 S2713 1987
ISBN: 0394755901
Publication Date: 1987-09-12
Liquidator : the Chernobyl story by Sergei Belyakov
Call Number: TK1362.U38 B485 2019
ISBN: 9789813227415
Publication Date: 2019
Chernobyl and its aftermath : a selected bibliography by Jurij Dobczansky
Call Number: Z5162 A26 D6 1988 (LC)+ Oversize
Publication Date: 1988

Natural Resources Defense Council Records
The collection comprises the records of the Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC), an American environmental action organization founded in 1970. The records consist of correspondence; legal files; meeting minutes; press clippings; technical reports; photographs; and publications, including annual reports, magazines, and newsletters; documenting NRDC's administration and programs.
Film and television about Chornobyl
Personal narratives
Archival documents
Government documents
Exclusion zone photography

Other Collections

Revelations from the Russian Archives
A digital companion to an exhibit at the Library of Congress, which includes digitized copies of documents regarding the Chernobyl disaster in translation.
Wilson Center Digital Archive
Small repository of government documents on the Chernobyl disaster.
Hoover Institution Digital Collections
Includes radio recordings by RFE/RL, posters, government documents, and more.
Open Society Archives
Includes recordings of television programs and records from the RFE/RL archives.
MAPA Digital Atlas of Ukraine
This branch of the MAPA project focuses on Chornobyl and geospatial mapping of its environmental and social consequences.

Librarian for Slavic and East European Studies

Anna Arays

Email Me

Contact:

Sterling Memorial Library 210
120 High St.
New Haven, CT 06511

Mail:
SML - Slavic & E. Europe Collection
PO BOX 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203) 432-7795

Subjects: Russian and East European Studies, Russian and European Studies, Languages and Literatures

HIST 296J: Chornobyl: A History of Energy and the Environment: Home

Getting Started

Important News Databases

Chornobyl: Primary Sources

Other Collections

Librarian for Slavic and East European Studies

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries