It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Born Digital @ Yale Guide, created and maintained by the Yale Born Digital Archives Working Group, contains news and resources pertaining to born-digital archival collections in Yale’s libraries and museums.
Within the Born Digital @ Yale guide, pages pertaining to the Digital Accessioning Service provide information about the capture of born-digital archival content from special collections across Yale libraries and museums.
The Digital Accessioning Service began in the spring of 2016, and works on transferring content from physical media to stable long-term storage, such as within the digital preservation system.
The di Bonaventura Family Digital Archaeology and Preservation Lab supports the technological needs of digital material from general and special collections across Yale University Libraries and Museums.
Lab equipment includes machines for accessioning digital content, and vintage machines to support work pertaining to a range of approaches to accessing outdated digital content: including migration, emulation, and last-resort retrieval.
Digital Preservation Resources and Organizations
The list of links below offers a very small sampling from the enormous range of resources offering guidance and information within Digital Preservation topics. For specific questions or further recommendations, please contact the Digital Preservation unit at firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Library of Congress's Digital Preservation page has links to education and training programs, resources on digital formats sustainability and recommended format specifications, and guidance for personal digital archiving.
The Digital Preservation Coalition is a non-for-profit organization which supports its members "to deliver resilient long-term access to digital content and services.... through advocacy, community engagement, workforce development, capacity-building, good practice and good governance."
Digital Preservation Q&A is a project of the Open Planets Foundation and the National Digital Stewardship Alliance. This website provides a forum moderated by representatives from member organizations within both NDSA and OPF. The questions and answers collected at this site offer helpful details on a wide range of topics including tools, techniques, processes, and workflows relevant to ensuring long term access to digital information.
DigiPres Commons is an international community focused on pooling resources, tools and expertise to work toward shared preservation solutions, and most of all, to save the redundant work and wasted effort that can come from isolation. This site offers links to a huge range of resources and forums covering information on tools, data, and making a business case for digital preservation.
The Software Collection of the Internet Archive is an enormous collection that includes documentation and software of all types, including computer games, CD-ROM images, Linux distributions and other free software, as well as scanned reproductions from computer magazines, newsletters, books, and catalogs. The IA also maintains the Internet Arcade, at which users can stream video games from the 1970s- 90s via software emulation running in the browser.
The website of the International Conference on Digital Preservation includes links to conference proceedings back to the first conference of the series in 2004. Proceeding include posters, and short and long papers from international participants representing both initiatives and organizations of all sizes.
Digital Preservation resources included at the UK National Archives site include guidance for best practices for preserving collections, as well as extensive and detailed information about file formats. From this site, you can download the DROID format identification tool, and can also access to the PRONOM online file format registry, which was originally developed to support the accession and long-term preservation for electronic records within the National Archives, which currently has entries for more than 1000 file formats.
Preservability Card Game
As you might imagine, the range of printed materials held by the Digital Preservation Unit is not very impressive in comparison with some of the Library's other repositories! But we are very pleased that we have a copy of this limited-edition card game created by the Digital Preservation Coalition.