Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Humanities: Home

Welcome

This guide provides an overview of resources for research in the environmental humanities. You will find information on:

Reference works, such as the Oxford Bibliographies and Cambridge Histories

Subject databases for finding the latest journal literature

Primary source databases, both newspaper and digitized manuscript collections

How to find archival sources at Yale and beyond

Print, digital, and microform formats are all covered to provide a broader starting point for research.

Environmental Humanities @ Yale

Click here for a weekly calendar of events at Yale that relate to the environmental humanities.

Top Resources

Links to some best bets for research in the environmental humanities. Be sure to check the remaining pages on this guide for more resources and suggestions.

Wiley Online Library
Relevant titles such as A Companion to American Environmental History will provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.


Oxford Research Encyclopedia in American History
The articles here are arranged into subfields and include "American Environmental Policy since 1964," "The American Antinuclear Movement," and more.


The Oxford Handbook of Energy Politics

This and other Oxford Handbooks are useful sources for getting started on research projects. You will find informative overviews on topics and helpful lists of suggestions for further reading in each chapter.


Oxford Bibliographies
This is a large collection of bibliographic “articles,” each containing numerous bibliographic annotations, often of both primary and secondary sources.


MLA International Bibliography

The major index for literary studies, updated several times throughout the year. Subjects covered are:
Modern literatures; Literary theory and criticism; Linguistics; Teaching of language; Film, television and theater; Rhetoric and composition; History of the book; Folklore.