Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faber Birren Collection of Books on Color: Birren Collection Image Database

Information about the Faber Birren Collection of Books on Color, part of Arts Library Special Collections at the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library.

Access and Use

To facilitate exploration of the Birren Collection, the Yale University Library has created the Birren Collection Image Database

It contains images from works in the Birren Collection and is available free of charge to all researchers. The Yale community on campus and connected by VPN can see all available images.  The general public will see only images without copyright restrictions.

Readers access images in the database by searching for specific bibliographic information or browsing by subject facets, including the proprietary classification system developed for the Birren Collection by Yale art historian Robert L. Herbert in 1974.  The database also connects to Orbis, Yale’s online public access catalog, giving the complete catalog record of each item and more information about its physical location in the Yale University Library system.

The Haas Family Arts Library welcomes researchers from around the globe.  While walk-in hours are available for Arts Library Special Collections (ALSC), we recommend consulting a librarian well in advance of your visit to make best use of your time. 

 

Associate Director for Special Collections

Mar Gonzalez Palacios's picture
Mar Gonzalez Palacios
Contact:
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
190 York Street | P.O. Box 208318
New Haven, CT 06520-8318
(203) 432-4439