Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faber Birren Collection of Books on Color: Faber Birren Collection of Books on Color

Information about the Faber Birren Collection of Books on Color, part of Arts Library Special Collections at the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library.

Robert B. Haas Arts Library

reading room at Arts Library

Yale's Arts Library, linking Rudolph Hall and the Loria Center at 180 and 190 York Street, serves as the primary collection for the study of art, architecture, and drama at Yale. The Arts Library contains approximately 150,000 onsite volumes including important reference works, monographs, exhibition catalogs, and print periodicals, as well as digital resources, including online periodicals, article indexes, and databases. Arts Library Special Collections features artists' books and volumes on the book arts, fine printing, typography, and illustration, as well as archival materials and thesis projects from the Schools of Art, Architecture, and Drama. An additional 300,000+ volumes are stored in the offsite Library Shelving Facility for quick delivery to any Yale Library via Eli Express.

Today's Arts Library Hours

Introduction

The Faber Birren Collection of Books on Color is particularly strong in color systems, color standards, and color nomenclature. Color theory, artists' manuals and treatises, and color techniques are also well represented. In addition, the collection has materials on vision, psychology, printing and the graphic arts, textiles, music, religion, biology, medicine, heraldry, and the occult. The collection has materials ranging from the 16th to the 20th centuries with important editions by Renee Descartes, Isaac Newton, Moses Harris, M.E. Chevreul, and G.B. Greenough, among others.

Architecture Records Archivist

Profile Photo
Kathy Bohlman
Contact:
Haas Arts Library Special Collections
(203) 432-7074