The Yale Library has seven different special collections units, all of which hold archival collections in addition to rare and unique books and other published materials. Materials used in today's class session are from Manuscripts and Archives in Sterling Memorial Library. Feel free to contact Bill Landis, associate director for public services, if you have questions about finding and using materials in Manuscripts and Archives or other Yale Library special collections.
The following entries are for the archival collections used in the class session held in the Gates Classroom, Manuscripts and Archives, on September 22nd, 2021.
Link to the online finding aid in Archives at Yale for this collections
Overview: Correspondence, speeches, writings, photographs, oral history interviews, and various other types of material documenting Bowles' long career in public service. The bulk of the collection documents Bowles' career after 1942, when he assumed the position of Connecticut State Tire Rationing Administrator. After that date, the papers illuminate Bowles' varied roles as state and federal administrator, politician, diplomat, publicist and as author and consultant. The papers shed much light on a wide range of subjects, including U.S. politics, economic policy, foreign policy, U.S. foreign aid and development policies, India, U.S. relations with India, Connecticut politics, and activities of American organizations and individuals in the field of liberal politics, civil rights and other causes. There is correspondence with six U.S. Presidents, Congressmen, federal and state government officials, Prime Ministers and other officials of foreign governments, press people, and leaders of liberal U.S. groups, as well as with constituents and admirers in the general public.
Collection materials used in class session:
Part III, Series II. India and Nepal correspondence, 1951-1953.
Part VII, Series III. Special Subjects, India and U.S. Mission to India, 1963-1969.
Part IX, Series I. Photographs and memorabilia, 1924-1969.
Link to the online finding aid in Archives at Yale for this collection
Overview: Oral history transcripts, 1971-1972, covering Ensminger's years in India, 1951-1970, as representative for the Ford Foundation. The papers also include unpublished reports and memos concerning India, 1952-1982.Note: this collection is available for research, but has been very minimally processed by archivists in Manuscripts and Archives.
Collection materials used in class session
Series II. Topics related to specific projects.
Accession 1983-M-011. Unpublished India reports.