A few of the library's guitar manuscripts include those in the list below. See also the online exhibit Treasures of Guitar and Lute Music which includes selected pages from manuscripts.

Segovia, Andres. [Guitar transcriptions], Misc. Ms. 342

Tarrega, Francisco. Estudio para guitarra, Misc. Ms. 481

Vees, Jack.  Strummage: for Ben Verdery, Misc. Ms. 429

Villa-Lobos, Heitor.  Concerto para violão (guitarre) e pequena orquestra, Misc. Ms. 518

The Wickhambrook Lute Manuscript, Music Deposit 1, available online (Yale only), for other materials relating to this manuscript, search Wickhambrook Lute in Orbis.

To locate other guitar manuscripts in the library, try an Advanced Search in Orbis, for guitar in Keyword, limited by Item type, music (manuscript).

The library also holds several collections of guitar music:

The Chamber Sheet Music Collection, Me11-Mn97

The Guitar Sheet Music Collection, Misc. Ms. 379

The Mary Belle Swingle Guitar Collection (works are cataloged separately)

The songs with guitar database, (ask Suzanne Lovejoy), which indexes songs in a number of our guitar rare editions and manuscripts.

Guitar music also forms part of archival collections, such as

Elliott Carter's Tell me where is fancy bred for voice and piano/guitar, in the John Kirkpatrick Papers, MSS 56

The Hanover Royal Music Archive, OSB MSS 146

Loomis Temple of Music, Published Music, Misc. Ms. 55

Music Vale Seminary Papers, Misc. Ms. 218

The library's rich resources include rare editions of guitar treatises and methods, that students may study by appointment.  For additional rare books on the guitar, try an advanced search in Orbis, for guitar in keyword, limited to dates between 1450 and 1850, and material type Books.