Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 090 The History of Sport: Collection Materials Used in Class

The following entries highlight the archival collections used in the class session held in the Gates classroom, Manuscripts and Archives, on Wednesday, March 2nd, 2022. The entries provide links to the finding aids (archival collection guides) for each collection. The links at the box/folder level below are to digitized copies of the contents your group explored on March 2nd that you can use to prepare for your March 11th class presentations.

Important Note: The PDF files of digitized collection materials are stored on Google Drive. Some of these PDF files are large enough that Google Drive may not be able to open them and will give you the option of downloading the PDF so you can open it on your local computer.

Group 1

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for the Camp papers and to the Orbis record for the football programs

Walter Camp Papers (MS 125), Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library. The papers consist of correspondence, writings, photographs and family papers, and document Walter Camp’s devotion to sports and in particular to football, which form he greatly modified. In his voluminous correspondence with Yale football stars, players at other universities, football coaches and sports associations, the interpretation of football rules forms one of the principal topics of correspondence. Approximately twelve feet of the papers are made up of Camp’s writings, which include articles, rule manuals, reviews and books. Half the material is devoted to football and another large section is on physical fitness.

Yale football programs (Yed5 F7p Oversize)

Group 4

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for the Department of Athletics, Yale University, Records Documenting Bicycling (RU 509)

Department of Athletics, Yale University, Records Documenting Bicycling (RU 509): The records consist of news clippings, memoranda, and photographs documenting bicycling at Yale.

 

Group 7

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aids for Yale Athletics Photographs (RU 691) and Department of Athletics, Yale University, Records Documenting Soccer (RU 1030)

Yale Athletics Photographs (RU 691): Photographs of Yale athletic events, associations and facilities. Included are shots of practices, teams, individual athletes, cheerleaders, and games. Also included are posters, lithographs and engravings from nineteenth-century magazines. Baseball, crew, football, swimming, and track are particularly well documented.

Department of Athletics, Yale University, Records Documenting Soccer (RU 1030):  The records consist of correspondence, reports, score books, photographs, and publications documenting soccer at Yale.

Group 2

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aids for the Walter Camp Papers (MS 125) and for the Yale Athletics Photographs (RU 691)

Walter Camp Papers (MS 125): The papers consist of correspondence, writings, photographs and family papers, and document Walter Camp’s devotion to sports and in particular to football, which form he greatly modified. In his voluminous correspondence with Yale football stars, players at other universities, football coaches and sports associations, the interpretation of football rules forms one of the principal topics of correspondence. Approximately twelve feet of the papers are made up of Camp’s writings, which include articles, rule manuals, reviews and books. Half the material is devoted to football and another large section is on physical fitness.

Yale Athletics Photographs (RU 691): Photographs of Yale athletic events, associations and facilities. Included are shots of practices, teams, individual athletes, cheerleaders, and games. Also included are posters, lithographs and engravings from nineteenth-century magazines. Baseball, crew, football, swimming, and track are particularly well documented.

Group 5

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aids for Yale Athletics Photographs (RU 691) and Department of Athletics, Yale University, Records of the Athletic Director (RU 983) 

Yale Athletics Photographs (RU 691): Photographs of Yale athletic events, associations and facilities. Included are shots of practices, teams, individual athletes, cheerleaders, and games. Also included are posters, lithographs and engravings from nineteenth-century magazines. Baseball, crew, football, swimming, and track are particularly well documented.

Department of Athletics, Yale University, Records of the Athletic Director (RU 983):  The records consist of correspondence, reports, memoranda, and subject files of the Yale Athletic Director.

Group 3

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for the James Rowland Angell, President of Yale, Records (RU 24) and the Orbis record for the Scrapbook on Yale rowing (Yed5 R7 2+) 

James Rowland Angell, President of Yale, Records (RU 24): The records consist of correspondence, annual reports, memoranda, and subject files documenting James Rowland Angell’s activities as president of Yale University. The records contain substantive documentation on virtually every aspect of the university’s administration, its schools, departments, and other major units. The files pertaining to the founding of the School of Nursing, the Institute of Human Relations, and the residential colleges are particularly significant.

Scrapbook on Yale rowing (Yed5 R7 2+) 

 

Group 6

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aids for Department of Athletics, Yale University, Records (RU 507)Yale Athletics Photographs (RU 691), and Department of Athletics, Yale University, Records of the Athletic Director (RU 983)

Department of Athletics, Yale University, Records (RU 507):  The records consist of correspondence, memoranda, scrapbooks, ledgers, financial records, press releases, and annual reports documenting athletics at Yale. Topics include varsity and intramural sports, physical education, the Payne Whitney Gymnasium, fundraising for facilities, anthropomorphic measurements of students, and the effects of World War I on Yale athletics.

Yale Athletics Photographs (RU 691): Photographs of Yale athletic events, associations and facilities. Included are shots of practices, teams, individual athletes, cheerleaders, and games. Also included are posters, lithographs and engravings from nineteenth-century magazines. Baseball, crew, football, swimming, and track are particularly well documented.

Department of Athletics, Yale University, Records of the Athletic Director (RU 983):  The records consist of correspondence, reports, memoranda, and subject files of the Yale Athletic Director.