Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The papers primarily relate to Richard Henry Pratt’s work and theories on education as a means of assimilating Native Americans into white American society. This is documented in correspondence, letter-press books, writings, diaries, notes, and photographs. Also included are papers relating to Pratt’s family, responses to Pratt’s work, and documentation about his founding and running the Carlisle Indian Industrial School, which removed Native American children from their homes and forced them to assimilate into white American society under the guise of providing education.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series III, Box 14, folder 493a: Florida Prisoners Letterbook
• Series IV, Box 24, folder 767: Drawings by Indian prisoners at St. Augustine, Florida (sketchbook)

On the penitentiary system in the United States, and its application in France; with an appendix on penal colonies, and also, statistical notes. Gustave de Beaumont and Alexis de Toqueville. Translated from the French, with an introduction, notes and additions, by Francis Lieber (1833). Local call number: 2009 1679

Tocqueville Manuscripts (GEN MSS 982)

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The Yale Tocqueville Manuscripts contains papers of both Alexis de Tocqueville and Gustave de Beaumont, intermixed. The papers include holograph manuscripts by Tocqueville (including the manuscript of De La Démocratie en Amérique), Beaumont, their families and associates, as well as holograph copies by contemporary and later copyists, and photo-duplicated copies of originals held elsewhere. The collection includes correspondence and documents relating to Tocqueville's and Beaumont's visit to the United States, 1831-32, and investigations of the American penitentiary system.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series B, Box 8: Miscellaneous Beaumont Prison Materials. (Originals from Larminat) [See questionnaires in English translation in last file in this box.]

• Description of a Slave Ship, London: Printed by James Phillips, George-yard, Lombard-street, 1789.
• Plan and sections of a slave ship [graphic]. From Carl Bernhard Wadström, Essay on colonization particularly applied to the western coast of Africa (1794-1795).
• Sophomore class, Poston High School, "The American Way of Life," typescript, hand illustrated, 1943 February-June, United States War Relocation Authority. Poston, Arizona Relocation Center Collection (MS 803). Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library. Collection Overview: Scrapbooks, record books, and memorabilia chiefly relating to the educational and library activities at the Poston Relocation Center, an American concentration camp. Nine scrapbooks made and bound by the students cover topics of academic study as well as their memoirs documenting their accounts of being incarcerated.
• Photographs of Arizona, Connecticut, New Mexico, and South Dakota, by John Willis (WA Photos Folio 155), Series III, New Mexico, 2011, Box 2 (Oversize), New Mexico State Penitentiary, including Cell (2010), Site of 1980 Riot (2011), and Untitled (2010) [Some background information from Santa Fe Public Library]

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The Catherine Roraback Collection of Ericka Huggins papers consists of materials compiled by attorney Catherine Roraback during the New Haven trial of Black Panther Party leader Ericka Huggins. Included in the collection are Huggins' legal files, prison writings, clippings, correspondence and other documentation of the trial and Huggins' imprisonment.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series II, Box 8, folders 87-90: Correspondence
• Series III, Box 8, folders 125-127: Personal Papers [Prison writings and other parts of collection are available digitally with Yale NetID through Yale Library Digital Collections]

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The Gus Hall Papers contain the professional papers of Gus Hall throughout his time as secretary-general and president of the Communist Party of the United States of America (CPUSA), as well as his personal correspondence to his family during his time in jail. This collection includes Hall's correspondence from jail during the years 1950 to 1957, when he was incarcerated for violating the Smith Act. This correspondence contains both Hall's original handwritten manuscript correspondence, as well as later transcribed typescript copies. This correspondence does not contain any material relating to the Communist Party of the United States, as Hall was only permitted to send letters of a personal nature during his incarceration. As a result, these letters are to his wife, Elizabeth Hall, and their two children, Barbara and Arvo.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series II, Box 11, folder 1-18: Jail Time Correspondence, Letters to Family 1951-1956

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The collection contains contact sheets, negatives, transparencies, slides, photographic prints, scrapbooks, writings, professional and personal papers, correspondence, printed material, cameras and other recording equipment, and audiovisual and computer media created and collected by Hungarian photojournalist Lucien Aigner. [Bio of Lucien Aigner]

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series I, Box 6, folder 102-104: Rikers Island Penitentiary, 1936

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The papers consist of correspondence, legal papers, notes, and other materials documenting Weinberger's career as a lawyer who specialized in civil liberties cases and, later in his career, copyright law. The one hundred and sixteen (116) case files include legal briefs, writs, and memoranda prepared by Weinberger and his staff, and similar material prepared by opposing attorneys. Correspondence files include letters with clients and individuals interested in a specific case. Weinberger's clients included: Alexander Berkman, Grover Cleveland Bergdoll, Emma Goldman, and Eugene O'Neill. The papers also include a small number of Weinberg's short stories and plays and correspondence with his nephew, Warren Weinberger.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Original Accession, Box 28, folders 10-21: Correspondence with Emma Goldman

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The collection comprises the papers of forensic psychiatrist and former Yale professor, Lawrence Z. Freedman, and dates from 1938 to 1997. The papers are notable for documenting Freedman’s contributions to the field of forensic psychiatry, as well as his studies of aggression, violence, crime, terrorism, and the interactions between psychiatry and the law. The bulk of the papers document Freedman’s numerous research studies. While the most significant of Freedman’s studies concerned the topics of deviancy, delinquency, criminality, and violence, he also conducted studies on other topics such as sleep and dreams, human sexual behavior, the effects of recreational drugs on communication, creativity, and obstetrics, among others.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series I, Subseries VII, Box 39, folder 5-12: Notes and References, typescript (original) and author's ms. (original), 1936-1952

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The Chester Himes Papers consist of original manuscripts, correspondence, photographs and artwork that document his long career as a writer. The manuscripts offer insight into Himes's creative process and many of them also represent the original versions and original titles for works that were later altered for publication. The bulk of the correspondence reveals Himes's relationship with the publishers and editors of his books and also offers a glimpse into the author's thoughts on his own work. The photographs and artwork document Himes's life with his family, friends and colleagues.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series I, Box 3, folder 29: Notes and References, typescript (original) and author's ms. (original), 1936-1952. [The material relates to Himes's autobiographical novel based on his experience of incarceration in the Ohio State Penitentiary. Includes signed pencil sketch by Himes of a prison courtyard, entitled "Journey's End." Digitized folder accessible with Yale NetID through Yale Library Digital Collections]

Esquire magazine, July-December 1936 (bound volume). Includes story by Chester Himes, "The Visiting Hour," in September 1936 issue.

Link to the Catalog Record in Orbis

Overview: Manuscript and typescript letters, signed, addressed to Nina Sulzer, inmate counselor in New Orleans, Louisiana, 1966 July 27-1980 June 23. Letters are from Wilbert Rideau (of The Angolite, an inmate-edited and published magazine of the Louisiana State Penitentiary), James Bennett, Charles E. Daniels, Janice Johnston, and Isiah Hall, and discuss matters pertaining to imprisonment. Included are Sulzer's business card and identification photograph. There are manuscript notes from an interview with Rideau concerning the prison system, 1979 March 7, and a typescript copy of Rudeau's resumé, circa 1980.

Collection materials used in class session:

• 16 Letters

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The papers consist of correspondence, diaries, legal documents, speeches, writings, printed material, photographs, and audiovisual materials that document the career of Arthur Liman. The papers emphasize the 1987 Iran-Contra hearings but also document many of Liman's other professional activities, including the Attica Prison uprising investigation and the Michael Milken trial. The papers contain an extensive collection of audiotapes and videotapes featuring conversations with and interviews of Liman.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series I, Box 1, folder 1-10: Attica State Prison uprising

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Correspondence, writings, newspaper clippings, and other papers on publishing and legal matters relating to convicted kidnapper and death-row inmate Caryl Chessman, collected by editor Joseph Longstreth of Critics Associated, 1953-1990.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series I, Box 3, folders 54-73: Correspondence with Caryl Chessman
• Series IV, Box 7, folders 145-180: Chessman writings

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The papers document the career of Benjamin Pogrund, best known for his work as African affairs reporter, night editor, and deputy editor of the Rand Daily Mail. The collection includes Pogrund's correspondence, most notably with the activist Robert Sobukwe while Sobukwe was a political prisoner. Pogrund's writings also comprise a significant portion of the papers, particularly his extensive notes for an unfinished book on the Communist Party in SouthAfrica from 1945 to 1960. Files documenting the Rand Daily Mail "Prisons Case," as well as prison conditions in South Africa under apartheid, comprise another important series in the collection. Finally, the papers include a large amount of collected materials regarding various groups and individuals who organized resistance to the South African government while under the apartheid system.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Correspondence Series, Box 2, folders 36-44: Letters between Pogrund and anti-apartheid activist and political prisoner Robert Sobukwe
• Prison Files Series, Box 6, folders 27-28: Police Act 1979, "Prison Conditions in South Africa: A Factual Report" [compiled by Amnesty International], 1965