A key resource for 20th c. newspaper research. Among the 80+ collections are approximately 50 collections of historical newspapers including mainstream papers such as the New York Times, titles from the Black press such as the Chicago Defender, and collections of Communist and leftist newspapers including the Daily Worker.
-----

Full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources at the local, regional, national and international level. Coverage from ca. 1982 to present.

Approximately 170 periodicals. Click here for title list.

This database covers the colonial period to the late 20th c. Most of the content is pre-20th century, but several collections cover the 20th c. and include:
- 20th Century American Newspapers, Series 1-3
- African American Newspapers, Series 1 (1827-1998) and 2 (1835-1956)
- Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
* Please note: a link to the new "America's Historical Newspapers" interface is available at the top of the page -- this interface provides an overview of all of the collections in the database and allows you to select multiple databases to search at the same time.

Publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and British Columbia, including Alaska, Arizona, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

A collection of digitized magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press spanning the 1960's to the 1980's.

Via publisher East View

Historical newspaper archive providing online access to thousands of historical newspapers, dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s.

A quirky and too often faulty search interface, but the only online access points for such journals of opinion as American Spectator, Commentary, Dissent, Harper's Magazine, New York Review of Books, The New Yorker, The Weekly Standard.

Provides interactive, digital access to nearly 7,000 newspapers and magazines globally. Coverage generally for the last 90 days.

Coverage from late 19th c. to 2005 for the following magazines: Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, Town & Country, Women's International Network News, Woman's Day
-----

Video archive of broadcast television program 60 Minutes.

This resource provides full-length streaming videos and clips, including newsreels and video news footage. It covers different subject areas, genres and time periods, all drawn from various producers.

The collection spans the presidential administrations of Lyndon Baines Johnson, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

A large database of manuscript collections relating to 19th and 20th c. U.S. history, including the papers of the NAACP, CORE, SNCC, and other Civil Rights and Black Power organizations, and files regarding a wide variety of domestic affairs as well as foreign policy under the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations.
-----

Provides access to 205 digitized manuscript collections. Click on the "Collections" link for an overview, and then filter by "Topics," e.g. African American Studies; American Studies; Cultural Studies; Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies; Law, Politics, and Radical Studies; Native American Studies; etc. Please note: The materials in this database are often presented out of their original order, and it's frequently a challenging resource to use. Please reach out for assistance if any of the collections are of interest or relevant to your research.

Materials from popular culture collections from the U.S. and U.K. between 1950 to 1975. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War. The collection includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eyewitness accounts, underground magazines, visual and video materials, and ephemera and memorabilia.

Contains records of speeches, reports, surveys, and analyses produced by Fisk University's Race Relations Department from 1943-1970. The Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association. The original records are housed at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans. The materials range from interviews and statistics to educational pamphlets and administrative correspondence produced by the Department's staff, to photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes where participants included Charles S. Johnson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

This searchable database provides research material from the 1960s through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. The database covers subjects in arts, music, and leisure, civil rights, counter-culture, law and government, mass media, new left and emerging neo-conservative movement, student activism, Vietnam War, and the women's movement.

Slavery, Abolition and Social justice features documents and collections that treat slavery, its legacy and continued existence, and social justice issues related to its legacy. Coverage is from 1490 to 2008, and materials include original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps, and images.

Collection of films produced primarily in the communist world from the early 20th c. to the 1980s and re-edited for Western audiences.

Archival materials documenting the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries and women’s political activism in areas such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism. Click on the "Collections" link for an overview of 15 collections.

Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors.

The starting point for finding Congressional documents, such as the Congressional Record, Hearings, House and Senate Documents and Reports (i.e., U.S. Congressional Serial Set), and more.
-----

A key resource for legal research and government information. Among its many collections are the most comprehensive available library of law journals, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Statutes at Large, and U.S. Presidential Library.

The link here goes to the catalog record for part one, but the "Online database" link goes to the home page for all three parts of the collection to which Yale researchers have access:
"Southern Regional Office Files [1945-1990]"
"The Roger Baldwin Years, 1912-1950"
"Years of Expansion,1950-1990"

U.S. and international news, business information, legal materials including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790 are all part of this massive database. * Guided Search (rather than searching "All Nexis Uni") will help to narrow down your search results.

This collection of formerly classified U.S. government documents provides access to the documentary record about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War.

Includes approximately 50 collections of declassified U.S. government information. This is a licensed, expanded version of the National Security Archive @ GWU.

Materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.

Declassified U.S. government documents (memoranda, cables, intelligence briefs, presentations, military manuals and directives, etc.) on the United States' nuclear, chemical, and biological weapons programs from 1942-present.

This platform provides access to thousands of video titles on the arts, humanities, science, and social sciences. The formats include documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and award-winning films, all with accompanying transcripts.

This resource provides full-length streaming videos and clips. It covers different subject areas, genres and time periods, all sourced from various producers.

On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer documentaries, training films and theatrical releases in multiple subject areas and disciplines.

Collection of films produced primarily in the communist world from the early 20th c. to the 1980s and re-edited for Western audiences.