(does not require access via Yale network)

Key resource from the University of Virginia (does not require access via Yale network)

The major digital library of works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America from approximately 1500 to 1700.

This includes the most extensive digital library of books and pamphlets published from the colonial era through the early national period of U.S. history.

An extensive collection of newspapers primarily from the colonial era to the early 19th century.

Ancestry provides access to historical documents (birth, baptism, census, marriage, and death records), photos, local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in databases that span from the 1500s to the present. Please note: Some of the materials/collections that are available within the consumer edition are not available as part of the Library Edition.

Provides access to 205 digitized manuscript collections. Click on the "Collections" link for an overview. Filter by "Topic" in order to browse the subject areas that are covered.
Please note: the archival finding aids and other original archival descriptions are often not included in these collections, so this can be a challenging database to use. Please reach out for assistance if any of the collections are of interest or relevant to your research.

Eighteenth century collections online includes titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Material consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; and general reference.

This collection provides international coverage of social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialization, and the birth of the modern corporation. In page after page of primary source documents, researchers can evaluate the profound impact of the Industrial Revolution on the political and social conditions of nineteenth-century workers, factory owners and national economies.

A wide-ranging collection with documents from 1500-1930. Source libraries: Cornell University and University of Pennsylvania.