Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
March 1: Bass Library reopened; Sterling and Bass resume evening and weekend hours. Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

HIST 131J / ER&M 392: City Limits: Urban History in the United States, 1865-Present: Home

This guide is intended for students in Professor Jennifer Klein's course and provides an overview of key resources in the Yale Library for your research papers this semester.

Main search portals

Finding Archives Beyond Yale

Selected reference works

Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start your research. Reference works include bibliographies, scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources that provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.


The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History


The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History 


Oxford Handbooks Online
Lengthy chapters in the Oxford Handbooks usually provide helpful overviews of scholarly topics and historical literature, along with suggestions for further reading. A number of the handbooks may be helpful depending on your research topic. Volumes in the series include the Oxford Handbook of Urban Planning and the Oxford Handbook of Cities in World History.


Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History

A scholarly encyclopedia of potentially great use in the early stages of your research project. Each article has a discussion of the literature, including primary sources. A great starting point for finding more sources; arranged into subject areas including Urban History. A few examples of potentially helpful articles are:

"The Asian American Movement" by Daryl Joji Maeda

"The Black Freedom Struggle in the Urban North" by Thomas J. Sugrue

"The Central Business District in American Cities" by Emily Remus

"Climate Change and the American City" by Andrew Hurley

"Deindustrialization and the Postindustrial City, 1950-Present" by Chloe E. Taft


Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics


Wiley Online Library

Includes scholarly journal articles and monographs as well as reference works. Often a single chapter or two within a reference work can provide a helpful starting point for research. Titles include A Companion to the Gilded Age and Progressive Era, A Companion to Post-1945 Americaand (for potential general or comparative reference) The New Blackwell Companion to the City.

Secondary sources

The following bibliographic databases will be helpful for finding secondary sources, especially scholarly/peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, book reviews, and citations to book chapters and edited collections of books. Please note: the full text of articles will not always be available in these databases. If you see the "YaleLinks" icon instead of a PDF, click on the icon to discover whether we have online access to the article: 

And, don’t forget, Orbis, Books+ and Articles+ are all useful tools for locating secondary sources!

Library contacts

Bill Landis, Associate Director for Public Services, Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library - bill.landis@yale.edu

James Kessenides, Kaplanoff Librarian for American History - james.kessenides@yale.edu