Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Terry Tempest Williams is an American writer, poet, naturalist, and environmental and social activist. Her writings link environmental causes with social justice and women's health, art, politics, and spirituality. The collection consists of correspondence, writings, including manuscripts and proofs, journals, notebooks, day books, research files, photographs, printed materials, awards, artwork, and audiovisual materials related to her life and work.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series I, Box 102, folder 1: Correspondence related to the Utah wilderness (1995)

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The Theatre Guild Archive consists of a variety of materials that document the history of the Theatre Guild from its earliest productions in 1919 through theatre and film projects in the 1980s and 1990s. Material includes correspondence and subject files relating to individuals, organizations, productions, and projects with which the company was involved; administrative and financial records; scripts and records of stage, radio, television, and film projects; scrapbooks, press books and clippings; costume, lighting and scenic designs and other art work; photographs of productions, events, and individuals; manuscript and printed music and related materials which document the creation, rehearsal, and performance of music composed and/or arranged for theatrical productions conceived of and produced by the Theatre Guild;

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series I, Box 81, folder 2049: Correspondence with Ruth Gordon, 1926-1960. Includes material on the Hollywood and theater blacklists.

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The Leon F. Litwack Collection of Berkeley, California, Protest Literature consists of newspapers, periodicals, flyers, handbills, newsletters, mailings, memoranda, reports, sound recordings, and other materials compiled by Leon Litwack that primarily document the protest movements of the 1960s and 1970s, particularly in and around Berkeley, California. The collection includes materials related to civil rights, Vietnam War protests, the Black Panther Party, the Free Speech Movement and the counterculture of the 1960s and 1970s. Also included are memoranda, meeting minutes, reports, and publications distributed to faculty at the University of California, Berkeley

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series I, Box 1: New Left Pamphlets, 1960s and 1970s

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The papers, the bulk of which are divided into two parts, document the life and political career of John V. Lindsay from his student days at Yale University through his two terms as mayor of New York City, 1965-1973. Part I contains pre-congressional and congressional papers covering the years 1944-1965 and includes his Yale senior thesis, personal correspondence and subject files, campaign records, and congressional papers for the years 1959-1965. Part II contains Lindsay's personal mayoral papers covering the years 1965-1973. The papers include personal correspondence, schedules, appointment books, subject files, campaign records, the papers of ten assistants to the mayor, photographs and other materials.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series II, XIV, Box 270, folder 15: Party affiliation correspondence, 1971

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Correspondence, writings, reports, memoranda, printed material, and miscellanea documenting the personal and professional life of George H. E. Smith, an author, educator at Yale University, director of the League of Nations, Non-Partisan Association of Detroit, Michigan, and secretary, staff director and consultant to the U. S. Senate Republican Policy Committee (1944-1962).

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series III, Box 31: Special reference files includes topics on civil rights and communism/anticommunism.

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The papers document the career of William Sloane Coffin, Jr., best known as chaplain of Yale University, as senior minister of Riverside Church, and as a political activist. The collection consists of correspondence, topical files, writings, personal papers, audio recordings, videotapes, and other materials created and collected by Coffin. The collection includes ample documentation of the role Coffin played in social and political movements including civil rights, Vietnam War protests, amnesty for draft resisters, disarmament, and international relief work. The following specific groups and organizations are particularly well represented: Operation Crossroads Africa, Peace Corps, Americans For Re-Appraisal of Far Eastern Policy, and Clergy and Laity Concerned about Vietnam. The papers include many other files related to Coffin's involvement in Vietnam War protest and civil rights, particularly his organizing of northern students.

Collection materials used in class session: ​​​​​​

• Series I, Box 13, folder 266-269: Correspondence related to Coffin's participation in the Freedom Rides, 1961.

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The collection comprises the papers of attorney, legal scholar, and Judge of the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, Louis H. Pollak. The papers consist of correspondence and subject files documenting myriad aspects of his life and career, including his tenure as professor and dean at Yale Law School.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series III, Box 41, folders 5-6: Folders related to the nomination of G. Harrold Carswell to the United States Supreme Court

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Collection of pamphlets assembled by staff of the Yale University Library from a variety of sources and containing "conservative, reactionary, or right wing" publications on a wide range of topics including: China, anti-communism, Christian groups, race relations, and economics, 1917-2010.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series I, Box 5, folder 84: Anticommunism, general, organizations: Congress of Freedom, 1954-1964.

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The John Anthony Danaher Papers consist primarily of Danaher's files for his one term in the United States Senate (1939-1945). The files, which include political and constituent correspondence, speeches, back-ground material, copies of legislation, and clippings, document Danaher's service on the Judiciary, Finance, and Banking and Currency Committees. The papers highlight Danaher's efforts to prevent United States involvement in the war in Europe, his questioning of the aims of post-war foreign policy, and his actions to safeguard domestic liberty against possible incursions by the wartime government. The papers also contain files relating to Danaher's service as a Republican national committeeman, congressional aide, executive director of the Republican U.S. Senatorial Campaign (1948), and director of the special activities division for the 1952 Republican presidential campaign.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series III, Box 64, folder 776: Correspondence with Richard Nixon, 1946-1951

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The Frank Donner papers document the history and use of political surveillance in the United States, primarily from the late 1940s through the early 1990s. The collection also generally serves as a resource for researchers studying the history of the twentieth century American left, civil liberties struggles and the lawyers who fought them, and the American political intelligence establishment. The papers reflect Donner's political and intellectual work and interests in civil liberties, progressive political movements, and the government's use of surveillance and informers. The collection includes extensive documentation on every major political informer from the anti-Communist wave of the 1950s to the social protest movements of the 1960s and 1970s. The informer files include biographical information, court documents and testimonies, and interview transcripts with and about individual informers. The collection also holds files on a significant cross-section of the social and political protest groups of the 1960s through the 1980s.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series II, Box 18: Material related to Thomas E. Mosher.

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The Chester Bowles Papers, consisting of 186 feet of correspondence, speeches, writings, photographs, oral history interviews, and various other types of material, record Bowles' long career in public service. Though the papers do contain some photographs and memorabilia from Bowles' childhood, college years, and from the period of his association with the advertising firm of Benton and Bowles, there is no correspondence or other important documentation before 1942, when Bowles assumed the position of Connecticut State Tire Rationing Administrator. After that date, the papers illuminate Bowles' varied roles as state and federal administrator, politician, diplomat, publicist and as author and consultant. The papers shed much light on a wide range of subjects, including U.S. politics, economic policy, foreign policy, U.S. foreign aid and development policies, India, U.S. relations with India, Connecticut politics, and activities of American organizations and individuals in the field of liberal politics, civil rights and other causes. There is correspondence with six U.S. Presidents, Congressmen, federal and state government officials, Prime Ministers and other officials of foreign governments, press people, and leaders of liberal U.S. groups, as well as with constituents and admirers in the general public.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series IV, I Box 157, folder 622-627: Correspondence with Adlai Stevenson, 1953-1956

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The records consist of correspondence, subject files, reports, and related materials concerning alumni relations; Corporation affairs; the dedication and use of Yale buildings; commemorations and memorials; commencement activities; Yale traditions; honorary degrees; lectures; prizes; war activities. Also included are records of the Council Committee on Publications and annual reports from schools, departments, and offices.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series III, Box 183, folder 531: Fisher, H.B. [FBI], correspondence and reports

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: William F. Buckley, Jr. is considered one of the founders of the modern Conservative movement. He was born in 1925 and graduated from Yale University in 1950. In 1955 he founded the magazine The National Review. He also wrote a nationally syndicated column and hosted the weekly television show Firing Line from 1966 through 1999. In 1965 Buckley ran unsuccessfully as the Conservative Party candidate for mayor of New York City. From 1969 to 1972 he served on the Advisory Commission on Information of the United States Information Agency. He wrote numerous books including God and Man at Yale, espionage novels, and a trilogy based on his sailing expeditions. The William F. Buckley, Jr. Papers consist of more than five hundred linear feet of material. Papers relating to the publication of God and Man at Yale, files from Buckley's 1965 campaign for mayor of New York City, and his 1950 "Alumni Day Address" are open for research. All other material is closed to research.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series I, Box 30:  Correspondence with Goldwater, Barry, 1964

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Correspondence, manuscripts, notes, printed material, photographs, audiotapes, and memorabilia documenting the personal life and professional career of Dwight Macdonald (Yale College Class of 1928). Macdonald's literary career, political activities, teaching and speaking engagements, and personal life are detailed. Major subjects represented in the papers include: communism and the Trotskyite movement, journalism and publishing, American social and political life (1920s-1970s), pacifism, and the Congress for Cultural Freedom. Correspondence files include letters with many prominent intellectual and political figures.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series II, Box 126: National Conference for New Politics