The following entries highlight the archival collection materials used in the class session held in the Beinecke Library on Wednesday, February 21, 2024.
While you're exploring the collection box in front of you and preparing to tell your fellow students something about the materials it contains, it may be useful to consider some of the following questions:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Gus Hall (1910-2000) was an activist, politician, and prominent member of the Communist Party of the United States, and was one of the people arrested in the 1949-1958 Smith Act trials of Communist Party leaders. The Gus Hall Papers contain the professional papers of Hall throughout his time as secretary-general and president of the Communist Party of the United States of America as well as his personal correspondence to his family during his time in jail.
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Correspondence, writings, printed materials, clippings, and other papers of the American Immigration Conference Board, an anti-communist organization devoted primarily to severely limiting immigration. The papers also contain materials relating to various immigration legislation during the 1930s.
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Correspondence, writings, printed material, clippings, and other papers of Rose Pastor Stokes, writer, artist, and radical political and social activist. Much of the material relates to Stokes's activities and involvement with various radical groups, including the American Communist Party and the Socialist Party. The correspondence reflects these involvements and contains many letters exchanged with American political radicals, labor leaders, and anarchists from the early 20th century.
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Manuscripts, notebooks, correspondence, newspaper clippings, photos, and printed material relating to the research and publications of Rachel Carson, noted biologist and environmentalist who fascinated readers with three books on the wonders of the sea and awakened the American public to the dangers of pesticide misuse with a highly controversial bestseller, Silent Spring.
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Correspondence, writings, course material, legal documents, and printed material that document Thomas Emerson's career as a lawyer and law professor. The papers emphasize Emerson's teaching, writing, and organizational activities during his career at the Yale Law School from 1946 to 1976.
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Correspondence, manuscripts, notes, printed material, photographs, audiotapes, and memorabilia documenting the personal life and professional career of Dwight Macdonald (Yale College Class of 1928). Macdonald's literary career, political activities, teaching and speaking engagements, and personal life are detailed. Major subjects represented in the papers include: communism and the Trotskyite movement, journalism and publishing, American social and political life (1920s-1970s), pacifism, and the Congress for Cultural Freedom. Correspondence files include letters with many prominent intellectual and political figures.
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Professional correspondence, writings, and files documenting Shulman's work as an arbitrator in labor-management disputes (1942-1955). Shulman served as a law clerk to Justice Louis Brandeis and as a faculty member of Yale Law School beginning in 1930. He was appointed dean in 1954 and served until his death from cancer in 1955.
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Typed transcripts of interviews with women for the project: "The Twentieth Century Trade Union Woman: Vehicle for Social Change," conducted by the Institute of Labor and Industrial Relations (University of Michigan-Wayne State University) Program on Women and Work.
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Audiotapes, transcripts, notebooks, correspondence, documents, printed material, and writings accumulated by Levy while conducting research for his book, Cesar Chavez: Autobiography of La Causa. The collection documents the life of Cesar Chavez as well as the early history of the United Farm Workers union.
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Organization files, subject files, correspondence, personal papers, and protest signs and posters documenting the work of New Haven activist Mary Johnson. Materials address peace activism, healthcare reform, living wage initiatives, support for senior citizens, government elections, constitutional rights, environmental activism, and political parties. Organizations documented include the New Haven Federation of Teachers, Local 933, Greater New Haven Coalition for People, United Farm Workers (UFW), Progressive Action Roundtable, People Against Injustice (PAI), and Livable Income for Everyone (LIFE)
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Correspondence, student papers, writings, speeches, subject files, congressional papers, clippings, photographs and miscellanea documenting the personal life and professional career of Reid, including his service in the U.S. House of Representatives (1963-1975).
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Personal correspondence, schedules, appointment books, subject files, campaign records, the papers of ten assistants to the mayor, photographs and other materials documenting the life and political career of John V. Lindsay from his student days at Yale University through his two terms as mayor of New York City, 1965-1973.
Collection materials used in class session:
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved