Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale Library

HIST 161J: Communism and Anticommunism in the 20th Century U.S.: Home

This course guide is intended to assist students in their research projects for the course Communism and Anticommunism in the 20th Century United States (HIST 161J), taught by Professor Beverly Gage during Spring term 2022 at Yale University. The selection of resources included in this guide is not intended to be comprehensive.

Library Contacts

Students in HIST 161J should feel free to contact any of the following librarians as a starting point for research assistance with their projects for this course.

  • Joshua Cochran: Archivist for American Diplomacy, Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library - joshua.cochran@yale.edu
  • James Kessenides: Kaplanoff Librarian for American History, Sterling Memorial Library - james.kessenides@yale.edu
  • Bill Landis: Associate Director for Public Services, Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library - bill.landis@yale.edu 

Yale Library Search Tools

The main search tools for finding books, articles, databases, archival collections, and more at Yale (and beyond) can all be found on the "Find, Request, and Use" page of the library's website. Here are a few quick refreshers, but be sure to visit the page for a full overview:

Yale Library Special Collections

The Yale Library has seven different special collections units, all of which hold archival collections in addition to rare and unique books and other published and unpublished materials that can serve as primary sources for your research projects. Special collections materials are described in Orbis/Quicksearch and archival collections more specifically in Archives at Yale. Additionally, the following online guides will assist you in using Yale's special collections and finding primary sources for your research project.

Finding resources beyond Yale