The following entries highlight the archival collections used in the class session held in the Gates Classroom, Sterling Memorial Library, on September 30, 2024.
For your writing assignment due on Friday, October 11, boxes will be on hold for this class in the appropriate reading room through Tuesday, October 15.
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Collection documents the life and career of Lucy Kramer Cohen, particularly her work for several federal agencies, contributions to The Handbook of Federal Indian Law, and her political and advocacy work. Professional papers primarily consist of correspondence, memoranda, reports, research notes, printed materials, and other papers relating to Kramer Cohen’s work for the Department of the Interior, Department of Agriculture, National War Labor Board, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, Department of Labor, National Science Foundation, and Public Health Service. Other professional papers include speeches and notes from Kramer Cohen’s time as a staffer and speechwriter for Helen Gahagan Douglas and memoranda and reports on Korea, Germany, and Iran from her time as an editor of the Human Relations Area Files.
Collection materials used in class session:
Online only:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Correspondence, writings, course material, legal documents, and printed material that document Thomas Emerson's career as a lawyer and, primarily, his time as a professor at the Yale Law School from 1946 to 1976. Correspondence runs throughout both the general correspondence and subject files series. The subject files consist largely of collected material and detail Emerson's involvement in organizations. His activities on behalf of the American Civil Liberties Union, the Connecticut Civil Liberties Union, and the Permanent Commission on the Status of Women are among those most thoroughly documented.
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Material created and collected by Lisbet Tellefsen. Many of the materials center around the creation of Aché, which was first issued in 1989 as a journal and existed as a collective in the Bay Area until 1994. The rest of the materials generally relate to allied groups and other events that Tellefsen participated in and helped to organize, such as the National Black Gay and Lesbian Conference's Video Project. Tellefsen, a political activist, feminist, and community organizer, is a Bay Area native and co-founded the journal Aché, along with Pippa Fleming.
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: The records document the organization and activities of the Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders (GLAD), a nonprofit legal organization dedicated to defending the rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals and people with HIV, primarily in New England. The collection primarily consists of litigation, amicus, and legal research files. Also included are correspondence, topical files, reports, meeting minutes, publications, volunteer and training manuals, and newspaper clippings created or maintained by GLAD. While the majority of the files are related to GLAD's litigation efforts, all aspects of the organization are documented in the collection, including its history, structure, and activities from its founding in 1978 to the present. The collection provides a rich resource for the study of GLAD, anti-discrimination efforts, social attitudes towards LGBTQ people and those affected by HIV/AIDS, and the legal issues facing lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people and people with HIV in the United States.
Collection materials used in class session
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: The records consist of flyers, news clippings, posters, buttons, and a videotape documenting union organizing activities and labor strikes at Yale University.
Collection materials used in class session
Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Audiotapes, transcripts, notebooks, correspondence, documents, printed material, and writings accumulated by Levy while conducting research for his book, César Chávez: Autobiography of La Causa (1975) The collection documents the life of Chávez as well as the early history of the United Farm Workers union. The collection contains a large oral history component, 314 audiotapes totaling approximately 500 hours of interviews, with extensive interviews of Chávez , Chávez family members, colleagues, and others involved in the labor movement in the United States. Levy typed transcripts for many tapes.
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Records of Office on the Education of Women (formerly the Coeducation Office) document all aspects of Yale University's transition to undergraduate coeducation, as well as the status of women at Yale and women in academe. Planning for incorporating women in Yale College and the residential colleges, admissions, and the first undergraduate female students are particularly well documented. The records include correspondence, memoranda, reports, meeting agendas and minutes, admission applications and other student data, and printed articles and news clippings, primarily maintained by the Elga Wasserman, who served as Special Assistant to the President on the Education of Women from 1968-1972.
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Typed transcripts (electrostatic copies) of interviews, conducted in the 1970s, with women for the project: "The Twentieth Century Trade Union Woman: Vehicle for Social Change," conducted by the Institute of Labor and Industrial Relations (University of Michigan-Wayne State University) Program on Women and Work. A few of the interviews were prepared in cooperation with other universities conducting similar projects, among them Pennsylvania State University, the Black Women Oral History Project of the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College, the Ohio Labor History Project, the Roosevelt University Oral History Project, the Southern Oral History Program, and the University of Iowa Oral History Project. Although a wide range of industries and their respective unions were surveyed, the unions most heavily represented are the Amalgamated Clothing Workers Union, the International Ladies' Garment Workers' Union, the Textile Workers Union, and the United Auto Workers. [Links in this Overview are to other oral history projects that make digitized interviews available online.]
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Administrative files, periodicals and clippings, ephemera, and audiovisual material chronicling Karen Habermann Trusty’s involvement in the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) between 1963-1964 and commemorative SNCC and civil rights-based events between 1980's-2010’s. Haberman Trusty attended Spelman College in the Fall of 1963 through the National Student Association Spelman Exchange Program. She was one of very few white students to participate in the program. At Spelman, Haberman Trusty was recruited by James Forman into the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC).
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: The papers document Miriam Jaffe's participation in lesbian and gay student life at Yale and in New Haven, as well as her party production company, MJ Productions. The papers consist of advertisements, event calendars, programs, newsletters and playbills. Jaffe graduated from Yale College in 1982. She was active in feminist and gay and lesbian organizations at Yale, including the YaLesbians and the Gay Student Center, and in New Haven's lesbian and gay community.
Collection materials used in class session:
Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Overview: Correspondence, news releases, clippings, and subject files of conservative writer and commentator William F. Buckley, Jr. (1925-2008). Buckley graduated from Yale in 1950, published God and Man at Yale: The Superstitions of 'Academic Freedom' in 1951, and founded The National Review in 1955.
Collection materials used in class session:
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved