Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale Library

AMST 236 / EVST 318 / HIST 199 / HSHM 207: American Energy History: Home

This guide is intended for students in Professor Paul Sabin's course and provides an overview of key resources in the Yale Library for writing your research papers this semester.

Yale Library Search Tools

The main search tools for finding books, articles, databases, archival collections, and more at Yale (and beyond) can all be found on the "Find, Request, and Use" page of the library's website. Here are a few quick refreshers, but be sure to visit the page for a full overview:

General resources

Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start in building your bibliographies. These are scholarly encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies, and similar sources that will often contain lengthy essays with background information on a topic and overviews of the relevant scholarship. Citations to the secondary literature will always be included, and often so too will citations to primary sources.

Wiley Online Library
Relevant titles such as A Companion to American Environmental History will provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.


Oxford Research Encyclopedia in American History
The articles here are arranged into subfields and include "American Environmental Policy since 1964," "The American Antinuclear Movement," and more.


The Oxford Handbook of Energy Politics

This and other Oxford Handbooks are useful sources for getting started on research projects. You will find informative overviews on topics and helpful lists of suggestions for further reading in each chapter.


Oxford Bibliographies
This is a large collection of bibliographic “articles,” each containing numerous bibliographic annotations, often of both primary and secondary sources.


The Environmental History Bibliography


Gale in Context: Environmental Studies

Secondary Sources/Subject Databases

Subject-specific databases are a key resource for finding secondary literature, including the latest scholarly journal articles in the field, and the main subject databases for finding historical literature are:

  • America: History and Life Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada and indexes over 2000 historical journals. A key resource if you are searching for historical scholarship related to your research project.
  • Historical Abstracts Provides historical coverage of the world, not including the United States and Canada, from the 15th century to the present. Indexes thousands of journals in multiple languages.

Additional subject databases for finding scholarly literature that may be helpful are:

Searching these databases will allow you to check for the latest scholarly articles, reviews of books, citations to book chapters, and more in a wide array of historical journals. Please note: the full text of articles will not always be available in these databases. If you see the "YaleLinks" icon instead of a PDF, click on the icon to discover whether we have online access to the article.

Forestry & Environmental Studies Librarian

Profile Photo
Rachel Sperling
Contact:
Marx Science and Social Science Library
203-436-5912