Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 215J The Art of Biography Research Guide: Primary Source Databases

The Yale Library licenses thousands of databases that may be useful in finding materials on or relating to your biography subject, the time period they lived in, people and organizations with which they were involved, or events in which they were involved. The following lists are selective. Please reach out to one of the librarians listed on the Home tab of this guide if you need assistance finding databases that are potentially relevant for your biography project.

Newspapers and Periodicals

These databases are licensed by the Yale Library for your use and require you to be on the Yale campus or authenticated to the Yale network via CAS or VPN. This guide provides more information about off-campus access to licensed database resources.

Government Information and Legal Resources

These databases are licensed by the Yale Library for your use and require you to be on the Yale campus or authenticated to the Yale network via CAS or VPN. This guide provides more information about off-campus access to licensed database resources.

Digital Archives

These databases are licensed by the Yale Library for your use and require you to be on the Yale campus or authenticated to the Yale network via CAS or VPN. This guide provides more information about off-campus access to licensed database resources.