Concordia Pulpit Resources (CPR)A homiletical journal of biblical interpretation, suggested approaches and illustrative material for the preparation of sermons. Each issue includes book reviews, articles, illustration ideas, and seasonal sermon series for Advent and Lent.
HomileticSponsored by the American Academy of Homiletics. Emphasizes book reviews.
Homily ServiceAn ecumenical quarterly resource for those who use and study the church’s lectionary. Includes sermon illustrations.
International Journal of HomileticsPeer-reviewed, open access online journal aiming to promote the global homiletical dialogue. Aims to brings together homileticians from different national, religious, and cultural contexts.
Journal for PreachersFor preachers who want sermon material that is both thoughtful and useful. Each issue contains provocative articles on theological reflections, cultural issues, liturgical seasons, and social concerns.
Journal of the Evangelical Homiletics SocietyProfessional peer-reviewed international journal published twice a year which contains articles on homiletics, book reviews, and sermons.
Lectionary HomileticsExegesis and sermons based on Revised Common Lectionary readings, both scholarly and practical articles.
The Living PulpitQuarterly publication on current themes and issues for preaching. Loose NY Theological Seminary association.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA SerialsCombines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla's largest online collection of major journals.
Index TheologicusContains more than 170,000 bibliographic records for articles published in theological and religious studies periodicals and festschriften. No links to full-text.
New Testament AbstractsPeriodical abstracts and book notices of primarily European and American works dealing with the New Testament.
Journals for Homiletics & Theology
International Journal of Practical TheologyIntended for practical theologians and teachers of religious education, scientists specializing in religion, and representatives of other cultural-scientific disciplines.
Journal of Empirical Theology (JET)Publishes articles on comparative research in religion on the macro-level of society (especially the function of religion with regard to equality and inequality, social order and cohesion and the process of rationalization), the meso-level of institutions (especially family, public and religiously affiliated schools, health and welfare institutions and religious institutions), and the micro-level of patterns and processes of identity formation and group formation.
McMaster Journal of Theology and MinistryElectronic and print journal that seeks to provide pastors, educators, and interested lay persons with the fruits of theological, biblical, and professional studies in an accessible form.
Practical TheologyFocuses on development of pastoral studies and practical theology by publishing creative articles which report good practice, and which offer fresh theoretical and practical insights in this area.
Praktische TheologieA journal for theological practitioners wishing to reflect their professional domains, such as pastoral ministry, professional training, school, adult education, the social realm, and others, on a scholarly basis.
Popular Periodicals for Preaching
Preach MagazinePopular and ecumenical preaching resources magazine (often UK focus).
Christian StandardA weekly publication which provides articles, book reviews, and information useful to leaders and preachers.
Expository TimesA monthly publication featuring sermons and book reviews.
