Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Mathematics Resources: Find E-Books

Resources and services for mathematics.

Emergency Temporary Access

See below for information about accessing e-books that have been added to the online catalog through an emergency temporary access agreement with HathiTrust, a non-profit digital repository.

Quicksearch



Notable Series

Encyclopaedia of Mathematical Sciences
Major mathematical specialties are covered by a sequence of volumes (e.g. Topology, Geometry, Algebraic Geometry, Several Complex Variables, Analysis, Lie Groups and Lie Algebras, Number Theory, Partial Differential Equations, and Dynamical Systems).

Encyclopedia of Mathematics and its Applications
This series is devoted to comprehensive coverage of significant topics that have wide application in mathematics and for which a detailed development of the abstract theory is less important than a thorough and concrete exploration of the implications and applications.

Ergebnisse der Mathematik und ihrer Grenzgebiete
‚ÄčEach book in this series is designed as a reliable reference covering a significant area of advanced mathematics, spelling out related open questions, and incorporating a comprehensive, up-to-date bibliography.

Graduate Texts in Mathematics
This series offers graduate-level introductions to advanced topics in mathematics.

Lecture Notes in Computer Science
The series publishes new developments in computer science and information technology.

Lecture Notes in Mathematics
This series reports on new developments in all areas of mathematics and their applications.

Progress in Mathematics
This series includes research level monographs, edited notes from seminars or lecture series, graduate level textbooks, and proceedings of focused and refereed conferences.

Synthesis Lectures on Mathematics and Statistics
E-books that synthesize important research or development topics.

Top Resources

American Mathematical Society
Backfile collections of books from 1894-2019 published by the American Mathematical Society (AMS) include complete runs of the following monograph and proceedings series. Individual books can be found in the Yale Library Catalog by author, title and keyword. Here is an example title.

  • Advances in Soviet Mathematics
  • AMS Chelsea Publishing
  • AMS/IP Studies in Advanced Mathematics
  • CBMS Issues in Mathematics Education
  • CBMS Regional Conference Series in Mathematics
  • Colloquium Publications
  • Contemporary Mathematics
  • Courant Lecture Notes
  • CRM (Centre de Recherches Mathématiques) Monograph Series
  • CRM Proceedings & Lecture Notes
  • DIMACS Workshop Series
  • Fields Institute Communications
  • Fields Institute Monographs
  • Graduate Studies in Mathematics
  • History of Mathematics
  • IAS/Park City Mathematics Series
  • Mathematical Surveys and Monographs
  • Mathematical World
  • Memoirs of the AMS
  • Proceedings of Symposia in Applied Mathematics
  • Proceedings of Symposia in Pure Mathematics
  • Student Mathematical Library
  • Translations of Mathematical Monographs
  • University Lecture Series

European Mathematical Society
A complete collection of all books published by the European Mathematical Society.

SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics)
E-books in applied mathematics and computational science.

SpringerLink
Monographs, textbook series, reference works and conference proceedings published by Springer.

Digitized Collections

Cornell University Library Historical Math Monographs
Search or browse books published between 1811 and 1936 from the Cornell University mathematics collection.

Electronic Library of Mathematics (ELibM)
Online journals, article collections, monographs, and other electronic resources in the field of mathematics. All material is in electronic form and access is generally free, except for some periodicals with a "moving wall", i.e., a certain delay period after which resources become freely available.

Göttingen Digitization Center (GDZ)
Digital archive of historical mathematical literature published up to 1900.

HathiTrust
Digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft.

Project Gutenberg Mathematics Bookshelf
Older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.

University of Michigan Historical Mathematics Collection
Search or browse a growing library of digitized books selected from the University of Michigan mathematics collection. All of the books in this collection were published in the 19th or early 20th century.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Andy Shimp
Contact:
17 Hillhouse Avenue
Room 110
PO Box 208342
New Haven, CT 06520
203-432-7460