Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Model Research Collection: Home

The Model Research Collection is a new initiative that aims to show an individual’s or group’s process of investigation of a particular topic as expressed physically through a collection of library resources.

Model Research Collection installation

The Model Research Collection is installed on the Courtyard Level of the Bass Library.

Claire Bowern to curate second annual Model Research Collection

Professor of Linguistics Claire Bowern has been selected to curate the second annual Bass Library Model Research Collection. Her project, to be displayed during the 2020-21 academic year, will explore the intersection of language and society.

“Language is everywhere: it’s one of the key ways we interact with the world around us, through the words we use and the way those words categorize the world," Bowern wrote in her proposal. “Yet it's so ubiquitous we often take it for granted.”

Read the full story.

Welcome

The Model Research Collection is a manifestation of a person’s or group’s process of investigation of a particular topic expressed physically through a collection of library resources. The selection of materials models the breadth and depth of what is available in the Yale University Library. The Model Research Collection curator selects relevant library resources from across the YUL system and in a variety of formats. Books from the circulating collections stand on the shelves, while electronic resources and non-circulating materials are represented through reproductions and on interactive screens. Each title contributes to an overall picture of how the resources of the Yale University Library system support innovative research in all disciplines.

Each year's collection has a different curator. The inaugural curator for the 2019-2020 academic year was Laura Wexler, Professor of American Studies and Professor of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies. The curator for the 2020-2021 academic year is Claire Bowern, Professor of Linguistics.

Installation of the 2020-2021 Model Research Collection

Librarian Liaison for the Model Research Collection

Jae Rossman's picture
Jae Rossman
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library, 130 Wall Street, New Haven, CT
203.432.1791
Website

Librarian Liaison for the Model Research Collection

Katy Webb's picture
Katy Webb
Contact:
Bass Library
New Haven, CT
203-436-1259