Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information about visitor access, see COVID-19 library updates..

Manuscripts and Archives (Repository) Researcher Information: Hire Research Assistance

This guide provides a variety of information for researchers using the reading room and collections of Manuscripts and Archives, in Sterling Memorial Library at Yale University.

Effective 4/11/22, Yale University Library special collections reading rooms will be open to non-Yale researchers who have been fully vaccinated and boosted and who have not traveled outside of the United States within the past 15 days. Please see the Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale University for information on gaining access.

How to Employ a Local Research Assistant

If you are unable to travel to New Haven, you may wish to consider hiring a local research assistant. The terms of employment are between you and your assistant, and Manuscripts and Archives, the Yale University Library, or Yale University have no involvement in such negotiations. Paid research assistants are welcome to set their own hourly rates. We do require your research assistant to complete our researcher registration process and follow all terms and conditions for access to Yale special collections.

The following are possible options to explore in order to locate a research assistant. You will need to be able to describe your research needs succinctly in order to utilize any of these services. Be sure to include any special research skills required, such as languages.

  • The McDougal Graduate Student Center within Yale's Graduate School of Arts and Sciences maintains e-mail contact with all Yale graduate and professional students. You may contact the McDougal Graduate Student Center by email at mcdougal.center@yale.edu or by telephone at (203) 432-2583, to advertise employment of a research assistant.
  • Alternatively, send a short description of your requirements to the registrar or Academic Support Assistant of the relevant academic department (consult the individual websites of graduate programs & departments). The registrar should be able to forward your project on to graduate students and invite them to contact you. 
  • The Center for Career Services at Southern Connecticut State University maintains a registry for services wanted, which is available to its entire student body. Please contact them directly if you are interested in utilizing this service to advertise for a research assistant.
  • Some patrons have had success posting a researcher position on Craigslist.

.