Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

The papers consist of reports, drawings, and correspondence, documenting the professional work, particularly city renewal planning, of Maurice Emile Henri Rotival during the years 1944-1963.

• Project Files: Drawings, Sketches, Maps: New Haven (Folder 191A)

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

The materials consist of audio recordings and transcripts of oral histories conducted by New Haven Oral History Project staff with New Haven, Connecticut, citizens.

Includes the following interviews for which the transcripts have been printed out, and if you click on the "Finding Aid View" in the finding aid, you will be able to scroll through a listing of all the interviews and access the audio recordings:

Richard Abbatiello
Shafiq Abdussabur
Theresa Argento
Lillian Brown
Robert Silverman
Charles Twyman

To request PDFs of the transcripts of any of the interviews in this collection, please write to beinecke.library@yale.edu.

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

The John Arthur Wilkinson Papers Documenting the Center for Advocacy, Research, and Planning (CARP), donated by Wilkinson in 1994, consist of records which document the administrative and institutional history of the Center for Advocacy, Research and Planning and which offer a detailed view of the workings of a non-profit civil rights legal agency. CARP was founded in December 1973 as the legal arm and research agency of the Greater New Haven Chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). 

• Topical Files: New Haven Economics and Development (Box 16)

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

Photographs of materials from this collection can be taken only for your own research purposes and cannot be shared online, published, or otherwise disseminated.

The Richard C. Lee Papers document the public years of one of the best known mayors in the United States. The bulk of the papers cover the period 1954-1969, when Lee was mayor of New Haven, although the papers span the dates 1934-1983.

The papers are divided into seven series. The largest and most important series, MAYORAL FILES, comes first. It fills 106 boxes and consists of general administrative office files, arranged chronologically by year andalphabetically by subject, kept during Lee's eight terms as New Haven mayor. Series I contains an extensive amount of material documenting Lee's skills as an urban politician in a city dominated by ethnic groups. MAYORAL FILES also have information on his public relations activities, his relationship with his constituents, his leadership in urban renewal, New Haven's pioneer efforts in the war on poverty, his civil rights record, town-gown relations, and his interaction with prominent local and state Democratic politicians.

• New Haven Photographs, 1963, Box 142, Folder 2438
• Subject Files: Tax Study: Barry Passett, 1960 ["A Comparative Study of Tax and Service Structures of Connecticut"], Box 115, Folder 2049
• Mayoral Files: 1959: Redevelopment: Oak Street Connector, Box 28, Folder 622-623

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

This collection consists of reports by city, local, and regional planning agencies spanning approximately from 1873 to 2000. Development plans, transportation studies, water resources inventories, park and recreation plans, urban renewal reports, housing market indexes, labor and employment statistics, demogreraphic information, industry and manufacturing data, and planning and zoning reports are included.

• Series 1, City Planning, Connecticut: Box 2 [Bridgeport, Greater Region]

The Sanborn Fire Insurance Company compiled maps of urban areas focusing on building types and materials to determine fire risk.

• Volume 1 (1973)

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

The Edward J. Logue Papers consists of correspondence, memos, reports, designs, photographs, tapes, clippings, printed material and miscellaneous files relating to the private life and professional career of Edward J. Logue lawyer, urban administrator and planner, and educator. The papers date from 1908 to 2005, with the bulk dates being 1949 to 1967. In order to document the phases of Logue's professional career and to accommodate his own filing arrangement, the papers have been organized into ten series and seven additions.

• Series V, Box 58, includes materials on the Oak Street Redevelopment Project, 1956

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

Project files, minutes, correspondence, and property records, documenting the work of the New Haven Redevelopment Agency, primarily from the 1950s to the 1980s.

• Series 6, City of New Haven: Box 84 [including Economic Development Commission & New Haven Development Corporation]

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

Approximately 280 slides, taken by Richard D. Johnson in 1964-1965, of various housing projects, schools, parks, streets, and buildings in New Haven, Connecticut. Includes some Yale University buildings.

• Slides, 1964-1965