It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
More than 400 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs, to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war. This extraordinary electronic collection includes 100,000 pages of re-keyed and indexed text, including 4,000 facsimile pages of previously unpublished manuscript material.
The definitive online resource for researching the individuals, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War. Originally created by Historical Data Systems, Inc., the database contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with over 17,000 photographs. With thousands of regimental rosters and officer profiles, the database will continue to grow as new information is loaded semiannually.
Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines.
This database documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. The project brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.
Drawn from the pamphlet collection of the New-York Historical Society, this database will eventually provide access to more than 25,000 short printed works from the Jacksonian Era to the Jazz Age. New material is added at the end of every month until December 2014, so please check back.
A database of primary source material providing a strong basis for research in areas such as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood. There is material relating to: Political and Social Issues, Race, Religion, Family, Popular Fiction & Sensational Literature, Children's Prescriptive Literature, Fashion and beauty, Cookery, medicine, and education.
Offers instant access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections — the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School — along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection at Columbia.
NINES is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first. They offer a portal to many digital archives and serve as a peer-reviewing body for digital work in the long 19th-century (1770-1920), British and American. NINES also is home to Juxta, a tool for comparing and collating multiple documentary instances of the same work; and to Ivanhoe, a collaborative game-space for interpreting textual and other cultural materials. Other interpretive tools and applications are in the planning stages
The Yale Indian Papers Project’s efforts will culminate in a searchable electronic document collection known as the New England Indian Papers Series. The Series will consist of various manuscript materials from Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts and parts of Eastern New York and Long Island. The first set of records to be published will consist of documents relating to Connecticut’s Native people.
Contains 2,000 pamphlets and complete runs of eight newspaper titles, covering 1840-1865. Southern Titles: Richmond Dispatch (Virginia), Charleston Mercury (South Carolina), New Orleans Times Picayune (Louisiana); Northern Titles: Boston Herald, New York Herald, Columbus State Journal(Ohio); Border State/Mississippi Valley Titles: The Kentucky Daily Journal, Memphis Daily Appeal. Also includes the collection of Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets from the Libraries of Salmon P. Chase & John P. Hale.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
A major database including many historical U.S. newspapers, usually spanning the 19th to 21st c. Titles include the New York Times, Hartford Courant, Chicago Defender, and about 50 additional newspapers.
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports bound by session of Congress. It began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817). Documents before 1817 may be found in the American State Papers.
Contains legal treatises published from 1800-1926, from the Nineteenth-Century Legal Treatises and Twentieth-Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections. Includes more than 21,000 works on U.S. and British Commonwealth law.
Links to millions of US patents and patent applications from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, dating back to the eighteenth century and including patents as recent as the last few months. The google interface makes this rich collection readily searchable.
One of the best sources for U.S. government documents. Contains the Congressional Record and numerous hearings, reports and other documents from the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Tip: limit searches to individual Congresses to narrow searches. Also, choose advanced search to select different parts of the database, such as the large map collection (Serial Set Maps). Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1932, which includes all of the 200,000+ executive branch titles listed in the 1909 Checklist that were not included in the U.S. Serial Set, as well as an additional well-chosen 200,000 titles from 1910-1932.
American Broadsides and Ephemera, based on the American Antiquarian Society's collection, offers searchable facsimile images of broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
A large database of American magazines, especially strong in 19th century collections. Many of the 19th century publications reflect on the growing debate over slavery, including the serialization of Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom’s Cabin in National Era, the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877), and the settling of the West and the emergence of modern America during the Gilded Age.
Digitized from one of the most important collections ever produced on microform, Early American Imprints, Series I is based on Charles Evans’ renowned “American Bibliography” and Roger Bristol’s supplement. Including more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages, Series I also offers new imprints not available in microform editions.
Since 1850, Harper's Magazine has been one of the leading periodicals of culture and opinion. This digital archive makes every issue of Harper's monthly allows users to browse individual issues or search the database by keyword.
Searchable full-text database of all the pages of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912 with scanned images, together with a series of indexes. The subject index provides information on domestic and foreign news, editorials, and people.
This database contains several key British sources, including the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online, to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.5 million British books and official publications, 71,000 archival collections and 18.9 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers.
EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.
Making of America is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.