Yale University Library Research Guides: PLSC 522 / SOCY 503 Archival Methods and Historical Approaches in the Social Sciences: Introduction

This course guide is intended to assist students in their research projects for the course Archival Methods and Historical Approaches in the Social Sciences (PLSC 522 / SOCY 503), taught by Professor Jonny Steinberg during Fall term 2024 at Yale University. The selection of resources included in this guide is not intended to be comprehensive.

Library Contacts

Students in Professor Steinberg's class should feel free to contact any of the following librarians as a starting point for research assistance with their projects for this course.

Joshua Cochran: Curator for American History and Diplomacy, Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library - joshua.cochran@yale.edu
James Kessenides: Kaplanoff Librarian for American History, Sterling Memorial Library - james.kessenides@yale.edu
Bill Landis: Teaching Librarian, Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library - bill.landis@yale.edu
Jennifer Snow: Instruction Librarian - jennifer.l.snow@yale.edu
Rachel Sperling: Social Science Librarian -- rachel.sperling@yale.edu

Yale Library Search Tools

The main search tools for finding books, articles, databases, archival collections, and more at Yale (and beyond) can all be found on the "Find, Request, and Use" page of the library's website. Here are a few quick refreshers, but be sure to visit the page for a full overview:

Orbis (classic catalog)
Searches books, e-books, journals (but not individual articles), government documents, and other physical and digital items. It's the classic catalog of Yale Library *not* including items from the Law Library. Can be used to find both primary and secondary sources.
Morris (classic catalog of Law Library)
If your topic relates to legal history or potentially involves research in legal materials, be sure to include Morris in your search, or alternatively to use Books+ (which searches both Morris and Orbis).
Quicksearch
A combined search of the library's books, journals and journal articles, licensed databases, digitized archival collections, and more. Searches Orbis as well as Morris, which is the Law Library catalog. A vast, Google-like search, but some library materials will still not be retrieved by it, and the advanced search refinements and options to use just one part of Quicksearch or another can be key to running efficient, manageable, and successful searches.
Articles+
Within Quicksearch, Articles+ can be a powerful tool for finding individual journal, newspaper, and magazine articles.
Books+
Within Quicksearch, Books+ will limit your search to the books (and reports and numerous other monographs, as opposed to journal articles) that are found across the Yale Libraries. Orbis + Morris (Law Library) collections are searched together.
Archives at Yale
The search portal for finding archival materials at Yale. Look for the Scope & Contents notes, inventories, and PDF Finding Aids to assess the relevance of materials to your research project.
Also see the Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale University for more information on finding, requesting, and using archival materials in the Yale Library.
Yale Library Digital Collections
Access to millions of digitized works and images from the Yale Library. This site is a living database, and new materials are added regularly.

Primary Sources in Yale Collections

The Yale Library has six different special collections units, all of which hold archival collections in addition to rare and unique books and other published and unpublished materials. Special collections materials are described in Orbis/Quicksearch and archival collections more specifically in Archives at Yale. Additionally, the following online guides will assist you in discovering potential primary sources for your research project across all of Yale's cultural heritage collections.

The Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale University provides introduction to finding and using special collections and archives held at Yale for your research projects.
The Primary Sources at Yale website is a great resource if you're not sure what types of materials might serve as primary sources for your research project. The section on database search strategies and using Advanced Search features is especially useful and will increase the power and focus of your database searches! Be aware that primary sources can be found in many library locations and resources other than the special collections units.
LUX is a tool that searches across collections at all of Yale's cultural heritage institutions: museums, galleries, and libraries.

Finding resources beyond Yale

WorldCat
For searching the library catalogs of 10,000 libraries around the world. A good tool for finding items held elsewhere that might be obtainable through Interlibrary Loan.
ArchiveGrid
A search portal to archival finding aids from over 1000 institutions, predominantly North American. Start here when you are seeking to discover if there are any relevant archival collections for your research beyond Yale. The "Summary View" option is a useful way to filter your search results. Researchers searching Archive Grid can learn about items from archival collections around the world, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and request copies. Open access resource/no login required.

PLSC 522 / SOCY 503 Archival Methods and Historical Approaches in the Social Sciences: Introduction

Yale Library Search Tools

Primary Sources in Yale Collections

Finding resources beyond Yale

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries