Skip to Main Content

Vergil: Aeneid

A guide to library resources for the study of Vergil's Aeneid

Aeneid Fragment Beinecke MS 482.76

Notable Translations

Gavin Douglas 1513 (Scots)
edited by David F.C. Coldwell, Scottish Text Society Edition, 1957-1964
Dryden 1697
William Frost, ed. (Berkeley, 1987)
Rolfe Humphries 1951
Ahl and Fantham 2007
Oxford World Classics
Sarah Ruden 2008
Yale University Press

Stream the Aeneid

Selections from Virgil - Aeneid: Read in Latin by John F.C. Richards
Folkways Records, 1960

The Story of Virgil's Aeneid: Introduction and Readings in Latin (and English) by Professor Moses Hadas
Folkways Records, 1955.

Resources

OCT
ed. Mynors 1969
PHI Latin Text
Scaife Viewer (Perseus)
J. B. Greenough, ed. 1881
"Old" Perseus
Loeb
H. Rushton Fairclough ; revised by G.P. Goold.
Aeneis Lateinisch - Deutsch
Gerhard Fink
Sammlung Tusculum, 2005

The Vergil Project
Includes Conington/Nettleship commentary and other reading aids
Dickinson College Commentaries
Selections from I, II, IV, VI
Page
MacMillan 1894
Frieze and Dennison
1902
Harper & Miller Bks. 1-6
New York, 1920

Connington and Nettleship (1876)
1-6 @Perseus | @HathiTrust
7-12 @Perseus | @HathiTrust

The Aeneid
R. D. Williams. 2nd edition. (Bristol Classical Press, 2009)
Virgil's Aeneid a reader's guide
David O. Ross (Blackwell, 2007)
Virgil the Aeneid: A Student's Guide
K.W. Grandsen, 2nd edition by .J. Harrison.. (Cambridge, 2004)
Virgil (Blackwell Introductions to the Ancient World)
R. Alden Smith (Willey Blackwell, 2011)

The Cambridge Companion to Virgil
edited by Charles Martindale. (Cambridge, 1997)
A Companion to the Study of Virgil
N. Horsfall (Brill, 2000)
A Companion to Vergil's Aeneid and Its Tradition
edited by Joseph Farrell and Michael C.J. Putnam. (Wiley-Blackwell, 2010))
more...less...
A Companion to Vergil's Aeneid and its Tradition presents a collection of original interpretive essays that represent an innovative addition to the body of Vergil scholarship.: Provides fresh approaches to traditional Vergil scholarship and new insights into unfamiliar aspects of Vergil's textual history; Features contributions by an international team of the most distinguished scholars; Represents a distinctively original approach to Vergil scholarship.
Vergil's metre a practical guide for reading Latin hexameter poetry
G.B. Nussbaum (Bristol, 1986)
Virgil.org
Maintained by David Scott Wilson-Okamura.
Virgil Encyclopedia
edited by Richard F. Thomas and Jan M. Ziolkowski (Wiley Blackwell, 2014)
The Virgilian tradition the first fifteen hundred years
Jan M. Ziolkowski and Michael C.J. Putnam, editors. (Yale, 2008)
Rückläufiger Wortindex zu Vergil
Wilhelm Ott,

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Virgil
Elaine Fantham, Emily Fairey 2009
Virgil 3. Aeneis: Eine Bibliographie
complied by Niklas Holzberg (2014)
Vergilius
journal of the Vergilian Society includes annual bibliographic updates

Gildersleeve's Latin grammar
3rd edition (1900)
Whitaker's Words Online
Logeion Online
Oxford Latin Dictionary
A 'Widget' that is part of Oxford Scholarly Editions Online
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL)
Open Access Version
Frieze Aeneid Vocabulary List
Dickinson College Commentaries

Commentaries to Individual Books

Book 1
Ganiban (Focus, 2008)

Book 2
Ganiban (Focus, 2008)
Horsfall (Brill, 2008)

Book 3
Heyworth & Morwood (Oxford, 2018)
Perkell (Focus, 2009)
Horsfall (Brill, 2006)
Williams (Oxford, 1962)

Book 4
1-299 Gildenhard.(Open Book Publishers, 2012)
Fratantuono & Smith (Brill, 2022)

Book 5
Fratantuono & Alden Smith (Brill, 2015)
Williams (Oxford, 1960)

Book 6
Johnston & Ganiban (Focus, 2012)
Horsfall (De Gruyter, 2013)
Norden (Teubner, 1927)
Butler (Blackwell, 1920)

Book 7
Horsfall (Brill, 2000)

Book 8
Fratantuono & Smith (Brill, 2018)
O'Hara (Focus, 2018)
Eden (Brill, 1975)

Book 10
Harrison, 1997
Haigh & Papillon 1918

Book 11
Horsfall (Brill, 2003)

Classics Links

Strasbourg Vergil edited by Sebastian Brant

Librarian

Colin McCaffrey

Email Me

Contact:

Classics Library
Phelps Hall 503

203-432-0854

Subjects: Classics, Philosophy