Skip to main content
Banner Image

Harvey M. Applebaum Award: Home

2017 Applebaum Award

Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 Applebaum Award!

First Prize: Max L.B. Cook (Morse College, History) - "Influence and Effectiveness in the Years of Upheaval: Winston Lord and the Policy Planning Staff from 1973 to 1977"

Second Prize (tie): Jonathan C. Esty (Davenport College, History) - "Kissinger’s Strategy in the Iraqi Kurdish Rebellion of 1972-75: False Start or Foundation of American-Kurdish Partnership?"

Second prize (tie): Sarah D. Kim (Jonathan Edwards College, History) - "Of a Healthy Constitution: Socialized Medicine Between the Triumphs of Social Security and Medicare"

About Harvey M. Applebaum

Harvey M. Applebaum, class of 1959, is a senior counsel, specializing in international trade and antitrust law, with the Washington firm of Covington & Burling LLP and a lecturer at the University of Virginia School of Law. He is a past Chairman of the Association of Yale Alumni and the Yale Alumni Magazine board.


About the Harvey M. Applebaum '59 Award

The Harvey M. Applebaum '59 Award is conferred on a Yale College senior for an outstanding essay based on research done in the Yale University Library's government documents collections. The prize is an award of $500.

The prize was established by the daughters of Harvey M. Applebaum, class of 1959, in honor of his 70th birthday. The inaugural award was conferred in 2008; past winners are listed here.

Guidelines and Submissions

Senior essays submitted for consideration for the Applebaum Award must be based in some part on research material within one of the following collections in Yale University Library's government documents collections:

These rich collections support research in a wide range of subjects, including international relations, public policy, economics, trade, agriculture, environmental studies, public health, and much more. Research material may be held within Yale's government information collections or may be available in digital format. Questions about whether particular research resources fall within the eligibility criteria should be directed to Melanie Maksin, Director of Research Support and Outreach Programs at the Center for Science and Social Science Information. 

Essays may be submitted by seniors or their faculty advisors.The winning student must agree to grant the library a non-exclusive right to post his or her essay on EliScholar.

Prize Contact

Melanie Maksin's picture
Melanie Maksin
Center for Science and Social Science Information
219 Prospect Street
New Haven, CT 06520
Schedule a meeting with Melanie