AdvertisingAfrican StudiesAmerican Visual CultureArchitectureClassical StudiesEast Asian StudiesHistory of PhotographyMapsMedicineMedieval StudiesMiddle East StudiesModern ArtRenaissance and Baroque EuropeScienceSouth Asian StudiesThe AmericasTheater and DramaPeople & Events
This is the "VRC Services" page of the "Visual Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Yale University Visual Resources Collection's guide to digital image resources.
Last Updated: Jul 16, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/images Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

VRC Services Print Page
  Search: 
 

VRC News

The Yale Visual Resources Collection is now available through ARTstor. When you search for images in ARTstor, you will discover both the ARTstor collection (1.6 million images) PLUS Yale VRC images (380,000 images). VRC images are identifiable by the letter "S" in the lower right corner. 

The VRC images are available to current affiliates of Yale University.

 

Museum News

National Gallery, London

Every painting in the collection of the National Gallery, London, is now available in ARTstor.  The National Gallery collection features more than 2,300 paintings, some of the most important works of European art from the 14th to the 19th centuries, including works by Jan van Eyck, Hans Holbein, Peter Paul Rubens, Johannes Vermeer and Paul Cezanne.

 

Visual Resources Collection

The Yale Visual Resources Collection (VRC) manages collections of images related to global art, architecture and material culture to support teaching and research in the Arts and Humanities.  The VRC digital image collection contains more than 370,000 items.

This guide offers assistance to patrons looking for digital images for teaching, learning and research.  Resources restricted to current Yale affiliates are marked .  Resources are organized by art historical divisions and museum collections. These lists are not exhaustive but are intended to feature major image collections and a selection of specialized resources.  

Our analog collections include lantern slides, 35mm slides and photographs.  Collection level records are available in ORBIS and Finding Aids are availabe for larger collections.

Services
Yale faculty may order digital images from books and journals for teaching and research. Please contact Maria Zapata and Francesca Livermore for ordering procedures or visit us in the Arts Library Special Collections. There are also four self service scanners in the Arts Library.

Please contact us with questions, comments or suggestions regarding collections or services.

 

Staff Contacts:

  • Maria ZapataLibrary Technical Assistant
  • Francesca Livermore, Arts Area Digital Librarian

 

 

 

Acknowledgements

In addition to the VRC staff, Ian McDermott, former Assistant Librarian at the Center for British Art, and Hannah Bennett, former Assistant  Director for Collections and Research at the Haas Family Arts Library, contributed multiple resources to this image guide.

 

VRC Search

Use this search box to look for images in the Library's local digital collections system.  Our collection is also available in ARTstor where you can search the combined VRC and ARTstor collections.

Collection Updates

We have recently added Module 7 (6,000 images) to the Archivision Archive. The complete Archive contains approximately 60,000 images.  This collection is available in our local system as well as in ARTstor.

 

21st-century architecture in Beijing from Archivision

 

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip