AdvertisingAfrican StudiesAmerican Visual CultureArchitectureClassical StudiesEast Asian StudiesHistory of PhotographyMapsMedicineMedieval StudiesMiddle East StudiesModern ArtRenaissance and Baroque EuropeScienceSouth Asian StudiesThe Americas
This is the "Visual Resources Collection: Services & Hours" page of the "Visual Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Visual Resources   Tags: art, art_history, digital_images, images, visual, visual_culture  

The Yale University Visual Resources Collection's guide to digital image resources.
Last Updated: May 8, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/images Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Visual Resources Collection: Services & Hours Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Visit Us!


View Larger Map

 

We are located at 180 York Street (enter through the Loria entrance) on the lower level of the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library in room B33.

 

 

Images in the Classroom

Aigle et chêne, aras et maïs, ... Digital ID: 105207. New York Public Library

Verneuil, M. P. Aigle et chêne, aras et maïs, bordures.

Poissons et oiseaux, frise. 1857


New York Public Library Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, Art and Architecture Collection, Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs.

 

http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/id?105207

 

Visual Resources Collection: Introduction

 

The Yale Visual Resources Collection (VRC) is responsible for developing and maintaining collections of visual materials related to global art, architecture and material culture to support the teaching curriculum in the Arts and Humanities.  The VRC digital image collection contains more than 270,000 items.  Principal users of this resource include the History of Art Department and the professional Schools of Art, Archite cture, and Drama, but the department serves the entire Yale community to support and encourage the use of visual materials in all areas of the arts and humanities.


Our newest resource is the Yale Silk Road Database, a collection of over 6,000 images of major sites in the Silk Road region taken during faculty site seminars led by Mimi Hall Yiengpruksawan (Professor, History of Art) under the auspices of the Council on East Asian Studies at Yale University in the summers of 2006-2009. 

 

The Visual Resources Collection was established more than 60 years ago as the slide and photograph collection dedicated to supporting teaching in the visual arts and architecture. Over the years, the collection grew to include  more than 300,000 lantern slides and 35mm slides as well as nearly 200,000 mounted photographs providing comprehensive coverage for the visual arts and architecture. The analog collections are now treated as archival materials and are stored in the Library Shelving Facility (LSF).  Items may be recalled by Library patrons.  VRC staff can assist patrons with locating and requesting materials from the analog collections.  Our analog collection catalogue records are available in ORBIS, including Finding Aids for the larger collections.


 

See General Image Resources for links to more image collections including vended resources like ARTstor.


Services


Yale faculty may order digital images from books and journals for their teaching needs. Please contact Robert Carlucci, VRC Manager for ordering procedures or visit our office in the Arts Library. There are also four self service scanners in the Arts Library.


The VRC staff is available to answer reference questions concerning digital image requests and use in person, by email and by telephone.


Staff Contact Info


Carlucci, Robert Manager (203) 432-2444 robert.carlucci@yale.edu
Coe, Sarah Support Specialist for Collection Development and Cataloging
(203) 432-2444 sarah.coe@yale.edu
Zapata, Maria Library Services Administrative Assistant (203) 432-2443 maria.zapata@yale.edu


Hours

Monday-Friday 8:30am-5pm


We welcome feedback and comments from students and faculty.  Please use the comments feature above or send email messages to Robert Carlucci, Manager, Visual Resources Collection.


Acknowledgements

In addition to the VRC staff, Ian McDermott, Assistant Librarian at the Center for British Art, and Hannah Bennett, former Assistant  Director for Collections and Research at the Haas Family Arts Library, contributed multiple resources to this image guide.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip