It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here you will find a series of primary and secondary resources in English literature, African American Studies, and History that might be helpful to you as a student in Counternarratives: Black Historical Fiction. Resources are organized by tabs at the top of this page. Under each tab, you will find information about how to search for each particular type of resource, as well as a selection of frequently used resources of that type. For example, under the Electronic Databases tab, you will find both links to Yale's database search portal, as well as important resources, like the ProQuest database Black Studies Center. If you have any questions, or would like research help, please do not hesitate to use the contact information in the box below to email me or sign up for office hours!
Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start your research. Reference works include bibliographies, scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources that provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics across varied subject areas. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies can be browsed by subject area and searched by keyword.
Searches the books, e-books, journals, government documents, and other physical and digital items owned by the library. Individual journal articles are not retrieved by the search. Can be used to find both primary and secondary sources.
A combined search of the library's books, journal articles, databases, and more. Searches Orbis as well as the Law Library catalog, Morris. Consider this a Google-like search of a vast amount of resources, but keep in mind some library materials are not indexed by the search. The search refinements and availability of multiple search fields are key to limiting the usually large number of results and finding the most relevant sources.
WorldCat is a database of catalog records from approximately 10,000 libraries around the world. It contains records for millions of volumes and can be used to find primary and/or secondary source materials that can be requested via Interlibrary Loan for use at Yale.
The World Catalog allows you to see where books and other resources are located at over 10,000 libraries worldwide. If a resource is not available at Yale or through Borrow Direct, check here to see where it is held and try requesting the it via Interlibrary Loan.
ArchiveGrid provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions such as documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives. It also provides contact information for the institutions where these collections are kept.