A key resource that includes ProQuest Historical Newspapers, with digitized reproductions of long runs of newspapers. Includes titles from the mainstream white press, such as The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, and Washington Post, as well as the following titles from the Black press: Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Los Angeles Sentinel, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, and The Pittsburgh Courier.

*Scroll down the homepage of ProQuest News and Newspapers to find the historical newspapers. A full list of all of the historical newspaper titles is included on another page of this guide.

Part of America's Historical Newspapers, which is made up of 21 series that can also be searched all at the same time -- most of the coverage is from the colonial era to the early 20th c.

Part of America's Historical Newspapers, which is made up of 21 series that can also be searched all at the same time -- most of the coverage is from the colonial era to the early 20th c.

A literary-political journal of the Civil Rights Movement and international Black freedom struggle, Freedomways was founded by Shirley Graham Du Bois and Esther Jackson and ran from 1961 to 1985.

Provides full-text searchable archives for journals of opinion, such as American Spectator, Commentary, Dissent, Harper's Magazine, New York Review of Books, The New Yorker, and The Weekly Standard.

Founded by W.E.B. DuBois. Available via JSTOR. The link here goes to the catalog record for 1960-2020, but under the "Title History" within JSTOR, you can select earlier years to browse/search. The JSTOR search box at the top of the page will allow you to search all years if you select "In This Journal" rather than "All Content" from the drop-down menu.

An index to articles appearing in a wide range of popular magazines from around 1900 to the late 20th c. Please note: full text may not always be available, but you can always request an article of interest through our Interlibrary Loan department in cases where the PDF or a link to the PDF doesn't appear.

A collection of women's interest magazines including Essence, a periodical for Black women, from volume 1 (1970) to volume 36 (2005). Click on the "Publications" link to find and browse/search the individual titles in this collection: Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, Town & Country, Women's International Network News, and Woman's Day.

Black studies center provides resources for research and teaching in Black studies: Schomburg studies on the Black experience, International index to Black periodicals (IIBP), the Chicago defender (full text, 1910-1975), and Black literature index. Additional modules: ProQuest dissertations for Black studies; The HistoryMakers (a filmed archive of oral history interviews); full text of additional historical Black newspapers; and Black abolitionist papers. It includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, and historical newspaper articles.